Lessons from UX Design: Why Understanding User Behavior is Critical for Successful Marketing

Ibrahim Salami
3 min readApr 27, 2023

--

Photo by Med Badr Chemmaoui on Unsplash

UX design. I have been curious to look into it for a while.

The concept that reeled me in was the fact that UX design is not just about design. We are blending elements of psychology, color theory and, most importantly, the audience.

UI design focuses on the aesthetic of the product, or how you want it to look, while UX design focuses on the functionality, how you want the product to function.

It's the combination of combining various research and using that to build products and landing pages that connect with the audience.

I come from a marketing background and I don't really have the intention of getting into a new industry any time soon. But if there's any skill I think it's nice to have, that'd be UX design.

I'm at the point of unlearning a couple of things I've learned over the years. I've explored various fields in marketing, content creation, SEO, content marketing, copywriting, personal branding and product marketing.

That's why I find it overwhelming to learn a different skill from scratch. I didn't have high hopes of getting into the training. I suck at design. My graphic design skill is 2 or 3 out of 10. Not so great. I wouldn't find it fun creating website structures and aesthetics from scratch. Heck, I can't even figure out what color compliments on my dressings.

But I realized I had existing knowledge that’d make getting into the field way easier.

UX design requires some essential marketing knowledge. If you come from a marketing background, it would possibly take you half of the time it takes an average person to learn UX design.

Just like marketing, we are helping users solve their problems, positioning ourselves as the go-to-solution and sticking to our branding.

We are capturing research based on user interviews, market research and competitive analysis and using that to build products that solve problems.

As I write this, I'm becoming much more inclined to learn further. It feels nice to explore something new.

During the training, we were introduced to the Bolt website. One of the most recognized mobility companies. At first glance, I thought it was an energy drink company or e-commerce store based on the software's branding.

When I think of financial mobility or taxi hiking software, I picture something plain and secure. Boring white and blue colors that assures the user their money would be in safe hands. That’s the approach most of its competitors seem to take. It’s not a bad idea to stick to a similar approach, but that just makes you like the rest of em'

When you're new to the market, it's hard to stand out considering the countless amount of similar software in the market. That's why positioning and branding are so important.

Bolt chose to go with an energetic branding, inspired by their name, lightning bolt, fast, striking. They blend all these ideas into their branding, and that makes them stand out.

In summary, when it comes to marketing or UX design, the colors, fonts or aesthetics are great things to consider, but it doesn't really matter that much if your audience isn't considered.

So, am I gonna explore this field further? Maybe. I’ll document my journey here. Let’s see where this goes 👨‍💻. The tech journey begins.

--

--