Karma or No Karma?

Ibukunoluwa 'IBee' Okusanya
2 min readNov 13, 2021

--

Karma is the belief that whatever you do will come back to you

Credit: Pinterest

There was an online poll asking if I believed in Karma. I wanted to click yes but I was hesitant. I needed to think about it and let it sink in, but I still couldn’t answer.

Truth is, I do but I also don’t. I really used to believe in it at some point in my life until I started seeing bad people get away with things. No matter how people wish death upon them nothing happens. In fact, they live longer.

If you believe in Karma, you might ask why do bad things happen to good people and why do bad people succeed?

Maybe Karma is a made-up idea or a superstition. Maybe we think it’ll help us sleep better at night because what explanation can you give when a young child dies or gets terrible diseases? Do we say “oh, you did something bad in your past life” or “it must be something your parents did when they when younger?”

So when that happens, my faith in Karma reduces. But I’ve also seen bad people get their pound of flesh in double folds too. Served hot on a platter and it’s always funny and lowkey feels good but it doesn’t happen very often.

So my belief is karma is neither here nor there and I’ve learnt to not depend on it because it’s like rolling dice; there’s no certainty.

--

--

Ibukunoluwa 'IBee' Okusanya

I have been challenged to write for 90 days. These are bad stories and they might suck but continue, anyway