zhengchen xu
3 min readJan 15, 2019

Imperial War Museum

Imperial War Museum, a museum relating to war and history. With the narrative method on a special design. I have a rich experience and a new understand of war.

Imperial War Museum

Since I arrived in London, I visited many interesting places relating to arts, entertainment, business, special design, and fashion. I used similar methods, experienced similar environments, had similar conclusions and engagements, so I change the idea, I planned to try the thing I am the most not interested, war.

The historical theme-based exhibition aims to describe specific event s or knowledge in past to people live in today, and this sort of exhibition can be easily seen in the whole world. The museum shows the events with a one-way route to lead visitors to experience the war in different scenarios with the change of music and light.

vHeight-test ruler
Imperial War Museum

The weapons, uniforms, transportations, food, posters, even the diaries, and letters written by soldiers. Which makes people get the opportunity to experience the war in person. The best part I think is the exhibition tries to build the bridge between the visitors to the past time. There is one ruler for people to test height for people gave me a very deep impression. During the First World War, even a ten-year-old child had to join the army to protect their hometown. With the testing the height personally, people will feel cruel about the war. In addition, at the end of the exhibition, there are short words written at the front of the gate of Imperial War Museum said’ If you want more people to know about it, donate five pounds’. When I went out of the museum, I even felt the scenario of people were playing with their family is a part of the museum design to make me treasure everything now. With the establishment of the atmosphere of the war, and express the reason, process at the same time, and the most important things are the proper management of the time order of the events I was deeply shocked by the exhibition.

The historical theme of the pavilion preserves the memory of past events in a country, a nation and even the people of the whole world,which provides experiences for people to draw on, shows the idea and attitude to specific event, I have never tried to deeply know about the history, except for the history class in school. This experience brings me more aware of history and war. Moreover, the courage and motivation to experience and know new things.