Ida Schmidt
1 min readJul 4, 2020

--

I really get what your’e saying.

I deal with procrastination by using it in a positive way, not working on myself so that I stop procrastinating.

I sort of classify this in ‘forgiving myself’. I accepted the fact that I am procrastinating as soon as I don’t feel comfortable with my work or simply don’t feel like doing it. But instead of taking these few minutes off, checking social media or watch some series, I do things that comfort me and at the same time give me something. (Actually with this strategy I found out that I really like to cook. Never thought this could be my thing.)

So I cook, which improves my personal health as I’m using fresh veggies etc. Or clean up every morning before work, because it gets myself out of stand by mode, but does not challenge me in any way. Or I found myself a minijob that I enjoy without considering it actual work — and wow, I’m being paid for my procrastination.

And the sum of all this makes me feel better in general and thereby more motivated to to my actual job. Which I chose and which should be the one I like best. Which I only notice by doing less important things. And a little time pressure definately helps! Totally agree on this one.

So nope, I don’t think you’re crazy. Try and work on all your personal issues and mistakes, but if one of them truns out to be quite useful, take your chance.

--

--