FOR SMOKERS! or for anyone who cannot break a habit.

Alfa-mar
4 min readNov 8, 2019

--

Should this photo attract you to read this cool story? I always wanted to publish this. I did not know what was stopping me, but I guess I am now able to tell an interesting story about how I stopped smoking, and hopefully, for good.

The funny thing is that I quit smoking one year after I took this photo in Barcelona back in 2018. At the time, I did not only realize that I can easily stop smoking, but I also did not think of smoking as a breakable habit.

Things were normal until I run out of cigarettes on a super windy night. I tried to sleep, but I could not, I so needed a cigarette. Sadly, I realized that I am addicted to smoking. It freaked me out to see myself addicted to something.

Some people accept this addiction and continue smoking normally. I decided, however, not to accept this fact and started to think of a way to stop this awful addiction using science and -assumedly- my rational-thinking brain. Yes, sir, I am an economist. My teachers spent hours lecturing us about utility maximization in neoclassical economics. So instead of applying this fancy term to help big corporations or even governments, I used it as the planner who postulates health as a-must-be maximized factor throughout life, other things being equal.

Back to the awful windy night. I came up with the idea that I can easily stop smoking. I just needed to figure out how to do it. So, I spent the next few weeks trying to convince myself that smoking is really bad. I looked up the side-effects of smoking, why smoking is very bad, and how to stop smoking, etc. I also took a risky step further by telling my girlfriend how awful the smell of her cigarette was. I know, it was unkind of me, and she got really mad, but then she has got used to hearing it every day.

If you missed my point up there, then maybe you should read more about the subconscious mind and how powerful it is to control what you think while you are awake, asleep, or even to stimulate your brain’s ability to boost strengths or to reduce weaknesses. You must acknowledge what makes you stop doing certain actions. No one will make you break a habit but you.

Ultimately, see what your brain fears the most and use it as a weapon to force yourself to stop that habit. That exactly what I did, and when I was ready to quit, a friend offered me the good-bye cigarette (photo below). I took that cigarette and captured my smoking moments and how great it was on many occasions, but this relationship has to be ended, now and forever.

My good-bye cigarette

When I used to smoke, I did not think of quitting smoking at any age in the future. I used to tell my friends that I will stop smoking when my doctor forces me to. Well, my grandfather still smokes at age 93 and he is just fine… so I guess no threat is there to keep smoking.

I will sum up what could happen when you stop smoking. First things first, do not panic if you see yourself panicking. Well, this should be obvious, but you really should prepare yourself for a couple of awful days. Try to take them as you take a fever, flu or sports accident. They suck! And they put you in pain, but you know you will recover from. So, try to take it as chill as possible. When I did so, I started laughing at myself for being so mad over stupid things. Again, it only makes you panic for a couple of days until you start managing your day as a smoke-free person.

After these few stressful days, you will start looking for new things that attract you instead of lighting up that damn cigarette in nonsense situations and places. Again, I am telling as a real smoker who stands outside in the rain for smoking a cigarette, standing against the wind to light up a cigarette that tastes so good.

I wanted to share with anyone who smokes, maybe you did not get the chances to think of smoking as the most horrible thing you are doing to yourself. These words are not a doctor’s advice telling you smoking is bad for your heart and it kills you. I am telling you here about my personal experience with smoking for 13 years.

To sum up, I took a few weeks of preparation. I stored new beliefs in my subconscious mind. Then I smoked the good-bye cigarette, then panicked for a few days. I got so mad and laughed so much over that stupidity. In the end, I started to see things differently. It’s like you discover new things in your personality. And guess what! IT IS JUST THE BEGINNING. If you find yourself changeable, then, my friend, welcome to the club.

--

--

Alfa-mar

Read my stories to get to know me better. I write about self-improvement, the environment, management & innovation.