I know Nothing about Web3

Ifeoluwa Apantaku
5 min readJun 14, 2023

--

I wanted to write about Web3 the second I got interested and started actively reading about it.

That was sometime last week. But I didn’t, as you can see, this is my first post.

So why didn’t I get into it? Well, if it isn’t obvious that’s because I barely knew enough about Web3 to publish an article about it.

Now, I’ve published this, you’re reading this, does that mean I know enough about Web3 now? No, not really. I’m still learning, but that’s why I’m here. To learn, to write as I learn, to learn as I write.

This is not a typical introductory post, I’m not going to tell you what Web 3 is, I’m not here to define it. It’s an emerging space, and its one of the things that got me interested in it. If you’re reading this. there’s a 75% chance that you already know Web3 is, or what it is about. Even though I made that statistic up, I’m sure I’m not too far from correct.

Why the interest in Web3?

Like I mentioned earlier, it’s an emerging space, and I want to be a part of something that is growing. It’s that simple.

As a content writer I have written crypto and blockchain related articles so I did already have core knowledge of the idea Web3 is built around (one of the perks of being a writer, you get to know (at least) a little about a lot of things).

Now back to being a part of something that is growing — at a number of points in my life, I’ve felt left behind, like I didn’t start moving fast enough. Sometimes, it feels like it’s too late to catch up, other times, I feel like I have to run to meet up, when I could comfortably be walking, if only I started moving on time.

Web3 is an emerging space, and although it started ‘moving’ a while ago, I think it’s still a good time to start moving and catch up. I want to learn, I want to grow, I want to evolve…with something new. I believe Web3 is a world I can go into to fly that path (of evolving with something new). Noticed I said fly, and not walk? Well, that’s because Web3 was made for those with wings. There is endless space for all to soar.

And the documenting part?

If you read my bio, you’ll see it says ‘Exploring Web3 and documenting my journey”. Why am I documenting my journey?

Its one simple reason that can be said in many ways — I want to track my growth. I want to watch my growth. I want to see myself grow. You know, coming up from rookie level to being very knowledgeable in the space as it grows. It would be nice to come back to this post in a year’s time and smile at how much I’ve grown and learnt.

I want to commit to learning about, and doing something for myself. Really, it’s an avenue to grow in various ways.

Then, my secondary reason — to let others see me grow. It could be someone else like who is just getting into exploring Web 3 and it could be someone who is already a player in the field. Whoever reads my write ups, whether they already know what I’m talking about or not, they’d have something to take away from what I’ve said and how I’ve said it.

I’m not documenting my journey to teach anyone, definitely not at this stage, rather I’m documenting to teach myself, and giving everybody access to come see what I’ve learnt.

I plan to write about anything and everything I learn about Web3, from its history and background to technical stuff. At the end of the day, I want to be a name you can make reference to when talking about Web3 writing. I want this medium account to be a resource you can tell someone to go through to get familiarized with Web3.

And until then, I’ll be writing about what I learn about as I go.

One last touchpoint before I say bye

I said last week I wanted to start writing, but I didn’t.

You might want to know, what’s the difference between then and now because I’m still not writing about Web 3 yet. This first post is not about Web3, technically.

Is there a difference between what I would have written then and what I am writing now? Well, not really...I don’t know, I think so.

Then, I wanted to write about how I wanted to start writing about Web 3 as soon as I got interested in it and actively started reading about it. Quite frankly, I already said that. In fact if you remember, it was the the first thing I said. But after that, I’ve gone on to mention quite a number of other things.

I asked myself this question while I was writing, “What is the difference between what I am writing now and what I would have written then?’’ When I start writing this section I didn’t know the answer. But as I continued to write, I got my answer.

Then, I was excited about my new interest and wanting to learn something. I already knew I wanted to document it so I wanted to start writing right away. But now, I better understand why I am interested in what I am interested in, why I wanted to write about it.

Because I understand these, I always able to sit and write this in one go. It jus kept flowing. While this is ‘normal’, I’ve had no motivation to write anything for a long while. I wouldn’t call it writer’s block because I had ideas, and would even start writing, only to stop at the third sentence because I couldn’t sustain my thoughts/writing my thoughts down.

I think that’s enough about me. This is probably the most you’ll know about me because from here on, it’s going to be all about Web3, baby!

Bye

I really find it hard to write conclusions, and that’s why the first sentence of my concluding paragraph clearly spells that out. I really hope you enjoyed reading the first post of this Web3 enthusiast as much as she enjoyed writing it. I’ll be back with actual Web3 articles, and I hope you get to learn with me (even if you already know it). See you soon.

P.S: I don’t want to commit to a posting frequency yet because there are other things I’m doing and factors that can affect how much I learn and when I’m able to write. But I’ll try to put something out once a week.

--

--

Ifeoluwa Apantaku
0 Followers

Exploring Web3 and documenting my journey.