5 Types Of Stories You should Tell With Your Content

Godswill Igiakong
3 min readSep 14, 2021

Storytelling plays an indispensable role in Content marketing and there are a lot of reasons why you must have storytelling in your content creation toolbox

Wanting to write a story is one thing, knowing what story to write about is another.

Many content creators understand the need and importance of storytelling but they don't create content with stories.

This is because they don't know what kind of stories they should share or write about.

After reading this, you would have enough clarity and understanding of the stories you should write about and why.

Stories you should write about include

1. Customer/ Client based Stories.

A client messaged me when I started my research writing business and asked that I work on a project for him. I was to write just the first two chapters of the project.

I was excited about it and enthusiastic because he's a drop shipper (so he claimed). I knew if I delivered on this job, I'll have a repeat customer in my pocket.

I put my all into this job and sent chapter 1 and 2 in less than 48 hours. He was impressed with the job and I asked for the bibliography which I foolishly sent.

Don't blame me. I was young, naive, and dumb. When it was time for payment, the client started with the story of his life.

After two days of applying pressure was when he sent me part of the money. The rest of the money they say it's history.

That was how I learnt my lesson to always collect a 70% upfront payment for your project work and the remaining 30% before I send the bibliography to you.

This is a good example of a Client-based story. I shared my experience with a client and my audience would have learnt one or two things from my story.

2. Process-based Story

This involves you documenting the processes involved in making your product, creating your designs, or building that software and putting it out as a story.

This type of story improves the authenticity and credibility of your brand as your audience gets to see the behind the scenes of your business.

The efforts you put in, the struggles, the challenges, and the making.

3. Environment-based Story

You write about your environment- things happening around you, how it's affected you and your brand, etc.

This can also be an opinion-based story where you share your thoughts about the happenings in your environment and what you think should be done.

4. Experience-based Story

In my newsletter today, I shared a story about my experience taking a shortcut to work. I transitioned from my experience based story to personal development lessons from it.

You get a content idea then think of your experience that best describes that idea or you pick a moral, business, personal development, or relationship lesson from your experience and create content with them.

5. Education-based Stories

People want to know what you know, how you got that good in your business or skill.

Give them a story of things you do, how you do them, books you read, lessons from the books, how you plan your day, how you balance your personal life and business.

Once you make the story fascinating and educating, your audience will always come back for more.

Here's an example of an Education-based Content

There are stories everywhere around you, you've not just been looking out for them or you didn't know where to find them.

Now you know the stories you can write about, the onus is on you to go out and try it.

The more you keep telling stories, the better you'll get.

It's Story Time! Go share some stories.

--

--

Godswill Igiakong

I'm a Storyteller, Blockchain writer, and Content Creator. I simplify complex terminologies and topics using analogies, stories, and relatable examples.