Some fun times with my Mum

Jax O'Lochlan
8 min readNov 1, 2023
Photo by author

I have previously written about my childhood and my relationship with my Mum. It means a great deal to me to consider my Mum a friend as well as my parent. She has an easy spirit, a great sense of humor and an eagerness for adventure that makes spending time with her enjoyable.

Unfortunately, my Mum, my siblings and I live geographically apart, so we don’t get to spend as much time together as we all would like. To sort this out, for many years now, Mum goes on, what my siblings and I call, Hello Tours. That is where she visits each of us in turn for extended periods of time. The visit timeline is fluid — it can range from a few weeks to many months. Regardless of the duration, at the end of the visit, we always wish it was longer.

Each visit has many special moments, lots of small gifts like cooking together, holding hands while walking by the canals or sitting in the living room talking and sharing stories until late at night. It may not sound exciting but these quiet moments together have allowed us to get to know each other as mother and daughter as well as women. I will always cherish them.

Here are a few of my favourite adventures with Mum; in no particular order:

A day at the safari park

We drove through the safari park. The rhinoceros were first on the tour. The massive animals grazed…

--

--