DIY Toaster

Margaret Mulligan
3 min readSep 1, 2017

--

Getting straight to the point Thomas Thwaites’ Toaster Project, reveals that it is impossible to make even the most standard of house hold items impossible to reproduce from scratch without the rest of civilization (on top of thousands of years of developmental technologies in geology, metallurgy, metalworking, chemistry, mechanics, what else??).

I personally find toasters pointless, I have one in my house and never use it, I would gladly remove it from my home if my family permitted me… I personally use a George Foreman grill.

I can’t believe this came out in ’96.

Where would we all be with out one of those? Where would we all be without George Foreman? What if he never gave up football as a kid for boxing? Just became some mediocre collage football player? Anyway, I don’t use it as a Lean Mean Fat Reducing Grilling Machine, just for toast… which arguably suggests, I ought to be using the toaster.

I find it ironic that sliced bread wasn’t invented until 30 years after the first toaster. Or that we say it was “invented” at all. The phrase in itself is absurd, you can’t “invent” slicing something. But heres a newspaper clipping of the thing that was invented, which seemingly has no name, that invents sliced bread in perpetuity. Because sliced bread is actually invented every day!

Not sure how it stays fresher longer??

Anyway, back to the actual topic at hand, so after millennia of trial and error and science and what-have-you we’ve come to the pinnacle of efficiency in terms of bread toasting (pre-machine sliced preferably), and the revisions are innumerable, we’ve got an armada of folks behind this product…

Very educational.

…but what do we really want? Roasted toast over an open wood fire, marshmallow style, Caption “Fire-roasted toast will satisfy the smoke fiends at the breakfast table.” You can always count on someone in this country to commodify an artisanal rustic aesthetic into further banality… but you can bet I want fire roasted toast with avocado next chance I get.

Which is also to say, it’s impossible for us to ever be satisfied, we build layers upon layers of armatures and dependencies and trap ourselves into a civilization where the intricacies of new branches of dependency might either be so full to capacity and gridlock, be able to rebound quickly when one branch falls off without any recognition of it happening or until we manage to tpk (“total party kill”) some way or “other”.

P.S. I think avocados are god’s gift and toast is the devil’s.

--

--