Love in all its metaphors

Ikenna Okwara
3 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

*Coughs…., proceeds to dust cobwebs…….its been a minute, I know, i’m sorry, I promise I'm back now…..

https://images.hdqwalls.com/wallpapers/childhood-broken-love-4k-jf.jpg

Everyone is the hero of their own story

Maybe this is the start of mine ..

I thought I was ready….

I had read books, written poems, and dabbled in art.

I had witnessed memoirs of love dedicated to an unseen muse.

I knew of love as grand as Noah’s ark and fickle as the Titanic

I often imagined mine

I lived in every scene, daydreaming at night, and reminiscing by day,

Fantasies became memories and reality never existed.

I was a professor in romantic theory, and yet

I fumble in practicality...

I built up walls that rivalled Everest,

My defence was so Impregnable, it made Mourinho proud and with one look they fell like aerated cabin biscuits…

A tactical genius who embodied self-control

So how do you explain my demeanour, with the way I smiled you would think she oozed dopamine.

She asked for my name, and I swear I forgot,

The name tag I had borne for 23 years and counting…,

“Just breathe”, I heard my brain call to my heart

My heart forgot to drum out its systolic rhythms.

In a daring move, I asked for an impression of herself

Preferably in a JPEG format

She sent JPEGs and my screen froze to wake up its processors

This beauty needs a full battery

“I scanned through her physical features absorbing each detail, like an unserious student preparing for a last-minute exam,

Her dimples were elusive, they only greeted a select few

A monogram left by the creator of creators

It was an honour to behold them

Call it blasphemy but I swore the sun came up so the heavens could take a screenshot of God's masterpiece.

I needed a reply but..

There was a delay...

My reflex motors moved involuntarily to her will

I felt a bit dizzy, like there was a shortage of air in my lungs

so this is what they meant by “ you stole my breath away”...

It’s been a while since you walked into my life and permanently moved into my brain.

I try to work

But how can I?

I’ve had a report due by 10 and we’ve been texting since 9:58

Every single byte sends signals to my brain

Encoded messages flow in like binary

Her power over me, like the touch of the Holy Spirit.

How I could tell the difference in her notification from others I would never know

Maybe My phone seemed to chirp a little happier

But when I saw it, the edge of my lips ran towards my ears

You would ask have you truly fallen for her

And I would respond,

“ If we were currencies, she would be the US dollar AND I naira, and only God's intervention could pick me up again

Call me crazy but It’s 2 months 20 days 5 hours 2 minutes 30 seconds till The nexus event…

This is a Two part series written from two points of view, Kindly check out the second part on Erica! page with the link below,

JUST TAP HERE

PS: I’m a big fan of Erica! and getting to work with her has been a dream come true. She has a way with words that makes you feel at home, I’m so happy I found her.

If you enjoyed it, Clap, follow, Engage and subscribe for more, Also check out Erica!’s Piece

--

--

Ikenna Okwara

I weave words into fabrics of stories Aspiring writer and actor, interested in creative writing, poetry, stories, in search of a community of active readers