3 tips to know before studying abroad

Ikki Ueda
5 min readApr 3, 2024

--

Before you study abroad, you may have a variety of anxieties and excitements. In order to start your study abroad experience as good as possible, there are some points you should know before you study abroad.

Before I get into the main topic, let me first briefly explain how I decided to pursue study abroad.

After graduating from high school, I attended a university in my hometown of Hokkaido. However, I was beginning to feel a sense of discomfort about whether or not I could continue to live out my days.

I had been interested in English since I was a small child. Gradually, I began to think that it would be a good idea to live abroad at least once while I was young.

When I was 19 years old, I set my sights on attending an overseas university. As a flow, I made a plan to attend a language school in Sydney, Australia for one year and then go on to an overseas university. It took me roughly six months to get used to English, and about two to three months to get used to life there.

As a result, although I was able to follow the above plan, there were a few things I wish I had known before I studied abroad.

In this article, I will share some points that you should know before studying abroad for those who are going to study abroad or are considering it. These points will be useful not only for English preparation but also for your life in Japan.

Three points you should know before you study abroad

Preparation for English vocabulary and grammar

English vocabulary should be learned before studying abroad, as it does not change much no matter where you study.

Of course, if you do not know some English vocabulary, you will not be able to speak using those words. And since memorizing vocabulary requires repeated practice, it is essential to do so while you have time.

Generally, the purpose of studying abroad is to “learn to speak English and make friends with foreigners,” but in any case, the emphasis is on English speaking in order to live abroad.

This is because it is quite difficult to learn how to speak and intonate foreign languages, including English, while living in Japan.

If you study English vocabulary and grammar well before you come to Japan, you will be able to devote more time to speaking English when you study abroad.

Finding a local community

Especially if this is your first time living abroad, finding a local community can be a great way to expand your network and interaction in the country. It is good to find the community related to your hobbies and work (or work you are interested in even if you have never worked before) .

When I first moved abroad at the age of 19, I did not have that mindset. I realized the importance of community participation when I actually lived there for about six months. Then I joined several communities and expanded my social activities.

Since this will be common to all overseas immigrants, including those studying abroad, I will introduce the communities I joined when I moved to Singapore.

Singapore Wakyo-Kai
A community dedicated to nurturing and supporting all “Waqiao” people, whether they are entrepreneurs or aspiring business leaders around the world.

Singapore Wakyo-Kai, a community that originated in Hong Kong, holds events and study groups mainly for business people, providing opportunities for people from different industries to get to know each other and expand each other’s business.

When I first moved to Singapore, I interned at a Japanese company, and the representative of the company was the representative of Singapore Wakyo-Kai.

Through this process, I was introduced to a group for students (international students, interns, etc.) called “Singapore Wakyo-Kai Youth” under the age of 25.

We can actually get a chance to talk with the people who are leader in various industries, while being students and learn a lot more than just school studies.

The above is just an example, but it is a good idea to research the community in the country you will be visiting beforehand.

Students, in particular, are more likely to be able to participate in communities in addition to their studies because of their age and the time available to them.

For this reason, I recommend that you start researching various community information before you study abroad.

If you already know people in the area, it is also a good idea to check local community information.

Finding Housing

The assumption is that when you study abroad, the school will often provide you with housing. However, one of the main concerns is that you may not know if the housing is suitable for you.

In my case, I stayed with a homestay when I studied abroad and in a student dormitory when I was at a university abroad. I had no problems with the former, but the latter caused problems from time to time.

The student dormitories were divided into blocks, such as Block A and Block B. The first time I went to the dormitory, the people living in each unit partied late at night. When I first went to that dormitory, the people in the unit I lived in were partying until late at night, and it was very noisy.

After about a week of living there, I told the manager of the dormitory and he moved me to a unit with quieter people. After that I had no such problems.

I was the type of person who could tell if a problem arose without much hesitation. However, there are some people who are not used to being abroad and may be reserved.

It is important to report such issues honestly when they arise. Also, nowadays it is easier to communicate through social networking services, so there is less need to say so face to face.

Or, if the living environment itself is not a good fit, it is important to share your concerns with someone without too much pressure, such as by talking to the school.

Also, if you are free to move to an area where you want to live, try to explore the area where you live. This will make it easier to find an area where you feel at home and where you prefer to live.

--

--

Ikki Ueda

My theme is "Southeast Asia," "International Travel," and "Marketing." Marketer / Consulting for Study Abroad and Overseas University Admission / Travel Lover