5 Poems 14

ikki
1 min readMay 30, 2022
Sunflower field in Gujranwala,

Sharaab

Never had a drop touched my lips
until I met her

Now my head swirls
my heart sways

again and again
I run to her

to refill my cup

Dessert

I’d have you in the morning
like little pancakes with sweet syrup
cinnamon toast with powdered sugar

Or maybe a bit after lunch
like citrus tarts with fresh lemon
melt-away chocolate chip cookies

Or even after dinner
Ice cream
you scream

Teddy Bear

let me be your teddy bear
bring me with you everywhere

in your backpack I could go
in sunshine rainfall wind and snow

If ever you find that your heart hurts
hold me close I’ll be a comfort

cuddle me tight before bed
kiss me on my fuzzy head

And in the morning I’ll still be there
your comfy cozy teddy bear

Baba

overworked
underappreciated
never complained

love by action
respect
love
respect
respect
respect

Sherbet

Sweltering
ninety-six!

wiping my brow
I put the lawnmower back

smell of fresh grass
little birds come to pick the seeds

Ahh.
An ice cold box of mango juice.

--

--