Aliceikpi
2 min readJan 11, 2020

January challenge (day 11)

😂 😂 😂

Yes, I’m laughing at myself too.

My inconsistency is very loud. Anyways, I’m here today.

(Share) My favourite thing to cook

Afang soup!

Yes Afang soup.

I know y’all will say its because I’m a calabar girl. And you won’t be wrong. That and also because its easy to cook and its also one of my favorite soups to eat.

So, I’ll be sharing steps on how to cook it and all the ingredient. Please don’t ask me for the precise quantity, do as you like😂.

Ingredient

Afang leaves

Water leaves

Meat (beef or goat. Do not ever use chicken to cook afang soup, no matter how rich you are. Never!).

Kpomo (ikpa)

Periwinkle (mfi)

Fish (stock fish and dry fish)

Fresh pepper

Crayfish

Palm oil

Salt

Water

Seasoning cubes

Preparation

Season and boil your meat, kpomo, dry fish and stock fish together. You can choose to boil the meat first, and when its tender, you add your kpomo and fish.

Wash and boil your periwinkle with enough salt.

Set it aside.

Wash your waterleaves properly before cutting. Your afang leaves can be cut and grinded at the market if you choose.

I don’t like my afang soup too watery, so i always boil my waterleaves in a separate pot for 2–3 mins to vaporize some of the water content.

Add your meat stock to the already boiling leaves. Cover the pot for a minute.

Add palm oil, periwinkle, crayfish and fresh pepper. Stir and leave for 5 mins.

Add your salt and seasoning cubes.

Taste it.

Add your already grinded afang leaves. Stir and bring it down after 2 -3 mins. Your soup is ready. Serve with any swallow of your choice; eba, fufu, pounded yam, wheat, poundo potato…the list is endless.

So..you see how easy it is to cook? No stress and its really delicious. Finger licking even.

So enjoy your meal.

I know…you’re welcome!😂 😂

Photo credit: @alvinzkitchen