Why Are You Not Doing ‘Relationship Reviews’?

Ilham Usman
2 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

I recently shared with a friend that I was reviewing my friendships, she did not know what I meant.

I explained that it is evaluating the relationships in your life. It helps you figure out the good, the bad, and the ugly, who should take the boot and who should stay in your life.

What prompted my review was realizing I was in an abusive relationship. I had known certain relationships in my life were toxic, but when I started learning more about abuse I realized it was so much worse than I thought. It was painful to read signs of abuse and seeing similarities in almost all my relationships.

I’ve not cut anyone off yet, while I’m dealing with the aftermath of realizing I have trauma, I’m taking time away from people to start healing.

I am still in contact with a few good friends, but for the most part I’m alone; I can see things more clearly and learn more about myself and correct the dependencies that kept me in those relationships.

This relationship review isn’t just for abusive relationships. It will help you figure out what you can improve in your good relationships, if you need to take a communications seminar, or speak up about your needs.

Is this something you will try?

Also, what’s your take on cutting people off?

--

--

Ilham Usman

I write about things I know: Personal growth, digital marketing, and writing. I occasionally do commentary. Audhd✨