Old-fashioned

Ilma Septiana
2 min readNov 11, 2023

--

To be honest, I still don’t know the exact meaning of “old-fashioned,” and for this, I’m not going to do a quick research, hehe. So, I just want to explain old-fashioned based on my own terms and understanding.

For me, old-fashioned is more than the aesthetics of the old days or vintage. If I can describe it; it’s like a sense of a time sequence of a 60s-era old couple just enjoying each other’s company under the shade of the tree in spring,

Or it’s about hesitating to do certain important things because of a silly promise you made with your friend when you were 5,

Or it’s as simple as the joyful feeling of putting black and thick hairpins on each side of your front hair for a formal high-end, and important event,

Or any other similar sense/feel that I can’t quite put into words. Maybe I’m one of those people who long for that kind of sense nowadays, somehow it’s sort of enchanting.

I hope that certain perspectives of mine continue to progress and develop, keeping up with the times, while at the same time, I also wish the other part of my thoughts about some particular things to remain soothingly and calmingly old-fashioned.

Unchained Melody
by Norah Jones (scan or click this link)
  • Disclaimer: not related to any current situation, just some good vibes music.
  • I really love this one, heard it from my dad. The original is by The Righteous Brothers, but Norah’s cover is just a chef’s kiss.

--

--