How to Knit with One Hand Only

Helen Zhou
2 min readNov 14, 2022

The power of the internet taught me things I didn’t know existed, and I’m so glad it did

Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

When I learned to knit, 9 years ago, I was thrilled. I never knew you can knit with just one hand. I’m so grateful that YouTube existed, a platform where people can share what they know, and put it up for others to see.

I first saw my younger sister knit, and I wish I could do that. To knit. Seeing both hands weaving across from each other. A harmony that orchestrated when both knitting needles are intertwined with the yarn. But unfortunately, when I look at my two hands, only one can hold the needle while the other lies crushed up quietly. I had a hemiplegic stroke 9 years ago. And I learned how to knit with one hand 9 years ago too.

I spoke about this new hobby that I wanted to try with my occupational therapist. I’d never knitted before my stroke, but it was something I was curious about. Seeing my sister knit these beautiful blankets with ease got me intrigued. And I would love to try it out.

We went to the best place to find resources about knitting, YouTube. Now, I’m not sure if it was the best place, but I’m sure if anyone was making one-handed knitting equipment and selling it commercially. It was 9 years ago.

But I am so glad that there were some videos about knitting with one hand. Many techniques and I was so happy that there were people who thought of the solution to one-handed knitting already.

I knitted some headbands and mini scarves, nothing compared to what my sister could make, but I was so proud of myself. Whenever I picked up the knitting needles, a rush of peace came over me. I soon knitted automatically, meaning I could knit without thinking of knitting. I could listen to a show, catching glimpses of it once every 5 seconds.

Though I stopped knitting for a few years, I’m back into it again! I love knitting, and I am always so grateful for the people who came before me and thought that someone with one hand and arm can knit without using the other hand.

I have a YouTube channel where I talk about knitting with one hand. Check it out, and in the near future, I will be doing a full tutorial on I knit.

A YouTube video of Helen Zhou sharing her story of how to knit with one hand.

In my next Medium article, I will talk about another hobby that you can do one-handed. It was also inspired by my sister and it’s similar to knitting.

Follow me to get notified when I post the new article next week.

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day!

--

--

Helen Zhou

I write about learning languages, one handed activities, Blender and YouTube!