What Are Some Unspoken Rules of the I.T. Industry

That every programmer should know about

Josef Cruz
CodeX

--

Photo by Wonderlane on Unsplash

I used to believe that if I finished my college degree in computer science with good grades, it’d not be difficult for me or other graduates to land a job. But, unfortunately, that is not the case.

I realized that you need to bring something to the table. Companies don’t care about your grades or degree. They care about your skills and knowledge to get the job done. I’ll share what I’ve learned from professional and investor points of view:

FOR PROFESSIONALS

  • People hire you to solve problems, not to use your knowledge. So, you will often work with much less than you know.
  • Learn to communicate: You have to learn to explain complex things in a simple way, you have to use everyday examples to explain technological problems, you have to remind your clients/bosses that simple / fast are not synonymous, and you have to be a consultant to clients/bosses all the time they often have no idea of ​​the consequences implicit in the requests. For example: using the cheapest web host results in 5 minutes to open emails, no spam box, emails sent often do not reach the recipient, and there is no security (any kid steals your emails). These things need to be made explicit at all times.

--

--

Josef Cruz
CodeX
Writer for

Entrepreneur, coder, husband, father. I spend my days on the web learning and sharing information across the globe.