Peppermint; Simple and Medicinal (+tincture recipe!)

Imogen V.
2 min readNov 24, 2023

--

Samer Khodeir on Unsplash

I’m not sure about you, but I’ve always been a big fan of mint. I’m an absolute fiend of minty sweet chewing gum, the smooth chocolate-y goodness of a peppermint patty, and my biggest guilty pleasure; mint chocolate chip ice cream. So naturally, when I began my foray into herbalism, I wanted to see what peppermint had to offer — and found myself absolutely pleased with what I had found.

So What is Peppermint?

The peppermint plant mentha x piperita is a flowering perennial that originates from Europe and has since been adopted into various different regions. It’s a natural crossbreed of watermint and spearmint, and can be found in the wild alongside its parent species. The name ‘mint’ comes from the latin word mente which translates to ‘thought’, as mint garlands were worn to inspire people and stimulate their brains. Mentha is also closely related to Minthe, a nymph who was transformed into a peppermint plant by Persephone, the Queen of the Underworld, out of envy after she was made a concubine to Hades.

Medicinal Benefits

The use of peppermint in medicine dates back to 2000 years, and for good reason. Peppermint has multiple benefits to it, as the menthol in it serves as a muscle relaxant, decongestant, and mild antibacterial agent. The herb holds both a numbing and refreshing effect, and is often used in rubs for aching muscles and joints. Pure peppermint oil can irritate the skin, though, so consider diluting it with another oil before using it topically.

Making the Tincture;

To make peppermint tincture, you will need;

  • Peppermint leaves
  • 80-proof alcohol (vodka, gin, rum) or vegetable glycerine
  • A canning jar

Instructions

  1. Rinse the mint leaves off and place them in the jar. Ideally, this should be 3/4ths of the way to top with room for the alcohol. (if using vegetable glycerine, chop the herb finely)
  2. Cover the leaves in 80-proof alcohol and cover.
  3. Let sit for 6 weeks, away from sunlight. Shake every time you think about it, or every few days.
  4. The tincture will be ready once the contents smell strongly of mint and not like alcohol.

--

--

Imogen V.

I'm a pen for hire that writes of love, wellness, and topics that grip me. Make yourself at home. ✦ I update weekly!