VT | EOD’s Tank on Hill AFB

Jason Yeaman
Mobile⌘Tech News
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2016

Virtual Tour

wp-image-1056903476jpg.jpg

EOD Tank

Fairly awkward moment with a MSGT yesterday at lunch.
A few years ago I remembered driving by a tank on the base .I found this some what funny. Not becaue there was a tank on an Air Force base, but that a former Squid was driving on an Air Force base amused at the scenarios that would have put it there in the first place.

You will notice the sphere distortion at the bottom. I did not have a tri or mono pod fit for this kind of shoot, so I was choosing angles and capturing HD photo spheres while holding a mini extender in my hand with the Theta mounted on it…and putting it on top of my head so I would get the same frame of reference off the deck.

The tank sits out front of the Explosive Ordinance Division on the base. When they saw what I was doing (walking around their tank with a stick on my head) the MSGT walked out and asked me what the hell I was doing. I told him I wanted to capture some 360 footage of the tank and demoed the shots I had taken. He thought the gyro-anchored image was cool. He then asked me if I could remove the Poke’man that someone had put on the tank because it drives traffic to the contolled access gate…which the Tank guards the opening to.

I told him I didnt play Poke’man.

You can have a look at the Virtual Tour here:

PlusCode: 85H94XWH+W2

85H94XWH+W2

https://www.google.com/maps/@41.1472242,-112.0224917,0a,75y/data=!3m5!1e1!3m3!1s-a8sP1df-NlU%2FV-G7_4XsaPI%2FAAAAAAABQek%2FsZ6tC7b0lwQKJfqwcEjIAKISocku3H7PACLIB!2e4!6s%2F%2Flh3.googleusercontent.com%2F-a8sP1df-NlU%2FV-G7_4XsaPI%2FAAAAAAABQek%2FsZ6tC7b0lwQKJfqwcEjIAKISocku3H7PACLIB%2Fno%2Fphoto.jpg

The constellations still have some weird attribute that can be a challenge to get a hold of, but the images can be cleaned up using snapseed and wont lose bits if you save them as a PNG, and use thetaconverter to bring the meta back during the return to JPG.

I have added the tank as a scenic spot. EOD and this VT are pending. As of this morning. I’m the closest L5 LocalGuide we have for verification…but I cant go verifying my own POS now….can I.

#Life360

www.imthemobile.guru/life-360

Originally published at imthemobile.guru.

--

--

Jason Yeaman
Mobile⌘Tech News

I cover topics in the mobile space: trends, strategy, business, legislation, philosophy and culture of Mobile technology.