Mother’s Day Website Project

Isabelle Fisk
2 min readMay 14, 2018

--

For Mother’s Day this year, my husband and I had the bright idea of creating a simple Mother’s Day website (what mom doesn’t love a good website, right?).

The site would be simple: we would include a mad-libs style webform that would prompt the user to enter a little bit of information about their mom, and a cutesy animation would play that would celebrate the user’s mom.

blink blink, fidget fidget

What I Designed

This is what I designed, and development (a.k.a. my spouse) didn’t implement it in its entirety. This is partially because I didn’t clearly define what I anticipated would happen, and partially because we were under time constraints.

What I Learned

Next time, I need to do much more planning before I execute. I jumped in blindly, and because of it I spent too much time honing out the little details and not enough time focusing on the big picture. (check out the sitting mom’s tattoos, though… worth it.) I did, however, learn a few fun tricks to store up my sleeve, including how to make a moving .gif using Photoshop. Score!

Sitting mom’s epic tats

More Work To Be Done

This site could have been so much! We toyed with the idea of having the paper airplane “fall” as the user scrolled down, having an animation that delivered the user’s message to Mom, and animating the moms on the home page. Ultimately, time got the best of us and we opted to finish the site, rather than give up because it wasn’t what we wanted. What we ended up with was a very simple site that happened to have a pretty bakground.

Father’s Day, here we come…

You can try our site out here. Be gentle, this is the first thing I’ve ever made (or be harsh; I probably need some tough love).

--

--