Don’t Underestimate Quitters

Ina Exmundo
3 min readApr 20, 2023

--

Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Quitting is often associated with failure, weakness, and disappointment.

Many of us grow up with the idea that we should never give up on anything and that quitting is a sign of defeat. However, the truth is that quitting can be one of the most courageous and wise decisions we can make.

Sometimes, quitting is the only way to move forward, grow, and achieve our goals.

First of all, let’s address the misconception that quitting means failure. In reality, quitting can be a sign of strength and resilience. If we realize that something is not working out for us, it takes courage to admit it and make a change.

Whether it’s a job, a relationship, or a project, sticking with something that doesn’t serve us well can be detrimental to our mental and physical health.

Quitting can be an act of self-care, self-love, and self-preservation.

I’ve had my fair share of quitting in my life, and each time, it was a difficult decision. Looking back, however, I can see how each time I quit, it lead me to a better place.

One of the most significant quitting decisions I made was to leave my corporate job. I had a stable, well-paying job, but it wasn’t fulfilling, and it didn’t align with my values and passions. I spent many sleepless nights wondering if I was making the right decision, and I was afraid of what the future would hold. After quitting, I had the time and freedom to explore my interests, travel, and eventually start my own business.

I would have never been able to do that if I hadn’t had the courage to quit my job.

Another example of quitting leading to success is when I quit a toxic relationship. It was a difficult decision, but it was the best thing I ever did for myself. The relationship was draining my energy, confidence, and self-worth. After I ended it, I had more time and energy to invest in myself, my friendships, and my goals. I also met my current partner, who supports and encourages me in everything I do. If I had stayed in that toxic relationship, I wouldn’t have been able to experience the love and happiness I have now.

Quitting doesn’t always have to be a big, life-changing decision.

Quitting simple habits or routines can sometimes have a major impact on our well-being.

I used to be a chronic overthinker, which caused me a great deal of anxiety and stress. I realized that overthinking was not benefiting me, so I determined to break the behavior. It wasn’t easy, but I learned how to control my thoughts and emotions through practicing mindfulness and meditation. Quitting overthinking has made me more peaceful, centered, and present.

We shouldn’t underestimate quitters.

Quitting can be an act of strength, courage, and wisdom.

It can lead us to better opportunities, relationships, and experiences. Of course, we shouldn’t quit everything at the first sign of difficulty or discomfort. However, if something is not serving us well and is preventing us from growing and thriving, quitting can be the best decision we ever make.

So, don’t be afraid to quit if you need to.

Trust yourself, follow your intuition, and have faith that everything will work out in the end.

Latest Article: The Greatest Skill Of All Time

Did you enjoy reading my article? I’d love to hear your feedback.

Fuel my creativity with a cup of coffee. Buy me a Coffee and let’s make something amazing together!

--

--

Ina Exmundo

Writing to Inspire! An Architect by Profession | Top 5% Freelancer | Entrepreneur | Investor | Canada based www.buymeacoffee.com/inaexmundo