I Killed My Alter Ego

Ina Exmundo
3 min readApr 19, 2023

--

Photo by Alimarel on Unsplash

For years, I lived with an alter ego that controlled my thoughts, feelings, and actions.

This alternate ego was loud, judgmental, and constantly told me I wasn’t good enough. It caused me to mistrust myself, question my choices, and kept me from pursuing my goals.

I was initially unaware that this alter ego was a creation I had made to shield myself from disappointment, failure, and rejection rather than a distinct creature. I referred to it as my inner critic, and I thought it was essential to keep me grounded and goal-focused.

But as time went on, I began to realize that my inner critic was doing more harm than good. It was holding me back, keeping me stuck in patterns of self-doubt and negative thinking, and preventing me from fully embracing the person I wanted to be.

It wasn’t until I hit rock bottom that I realized I needed to do something about my alter ego. I was sick of feeling confined and miserable, and I realized that something had to change if I ever wanted to live the life I had always imagined for myself.

So I made the decision to kill my alter ego.

It was a scary choice, and I wasn’t sure what would happen if I made it now rather than later. But I knew that I couldn’t continue living my life the way I had been and that killing my inner critic was the only way to move forward.

It wasn’t an easy process …

  • I had to confront my deepest fears, insecurities, and negative beliefs head-on.
  • I had to question everything I had ever been told about myself and my abilities and re-learn how to think and act in a way that was supportive and empowering.

But slowly but surely, I began to notice a change. I started to feel more confident, more capable, and more in control of my life. I stopped second-guessing myself and started taking risks, pursuing my passions, and living the life I had always dreamed of.

Killing my alter ego wasn’t the end of the journey, of course. I still have moments of self-doubt, fear, and negativity.

But now, instead of letting my inner critic take over, I know how to recognize it for what it is and take steps to quiet its voice.

Killing my alter ego turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

It allowed me to break free from the limitations I had placed on myself and embrace the fullness of who I am. And while the journey wasn’t easy, it was worth it for the freedom and joy I’ve found on the other side.

Latest Article: Why This Time Is the Right Time

Did you enjoy reading my article? I’d love to hear your feedback.

Fuel my creativity with a cup of coffee. Buy me a Coffee and let’s make something amazing together!

--

--

Ina Exmundo

Writing to Inspire! An Architect by Profession | Top 5% Freelancer | Entrepreneur | Investor | Canada based www.buymeacoffee.com/inaexmundo