MONEY announce new album, stream new single

© Joe Wilson

MONEY today announce the release of their much-anticipated second album Suicide Songs, which will be released 29th January via Bella Union. Have a look at the incredible artwork and tracklisting below.

The band have unveiled a first taste of the album with the haunting and mournful You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky which is streaming below.

MONEY have also announced an extensive headline tour throughout the UK and Europe following the release of the album. Tour dates can also be found below.

In 2013, MONEY released their acclaimed debut album The Shadow Of Heaven, which we awarded 4/5. After two years of silence, Producer Charlie Andrew persuaded MONEY to relocate back to South London where they recorded Suicide Songs in Brixton studio.

Vocalist and main songwriter Jamie Lee, who struggled with drunkenness and mental ill-health, remarks on the album title:

I wanted the album to sound like it was ‘coming from death’ which is where these songs emerged […] The only real kind of triumphant realisation is being able to express the morbidity of the situation I found myself in.

Artwork (© Elliot Kennedy)

Tracklisting:

I Am The Lord
I’m Not Here
You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky
Night Came
Suicide Song
Hopeless World
I’ll Be The Night
All My Life
A Cocaine Christmas and an Alcoholic’s New Year

Tour dates:

Wednesday 10th February — MANCHESTER — Ritz

Thursday 11th February — NOTTINGHAM — Bodega

Friday 12th February — LIVERPOOL — Leaf

Sunday 14th February — GLASGOW — Broadcast

Monday 15th February — NEWCASTLE — Think Tank

Tuesday 16th February — LEEDS — Belgravia

Thursday 18th February — BIRMINGHAM — Hare & Hounds

Friday 19th February — BRISTOL — Lantern

Saturday 20th February — CARDIFF — Clwb Ifor Bach

Monday 22nd February — LONDON — Village Underground

Tuesday 23rd February — BRIGHTON — Green Door Store


Originally published at Indie is not a genre.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.