Pleasure House — Calm

Credit: Tom Nicholls

Following on from support slots with the likes of Sundara Karma, Black Honey and Fickle Friends, Birmingham quartet Pleasure House drop their new single Calm on April 7th. Despite its name, the Bruce Rintoul produced track, who has worked with Twin Atlantic, Fatherson, and Vukovi, is anything but calm.

Discussing the release, frontman Alex Heffernan stated:

I’d been feeling increasingly disaffected, like many others’ guilty of scrolling through torrents of hateful rhetoric and petty politics that add to the fragile disparity within our society, creating a war amongst ourselves. I wrote Calm as a protest song against this.

Calm is also the first track to be released from Pleasure House’s forthcoming Sentient EP, that drops on May 26th.

Tour dates:

28 Apr — Handmade Festival, Leicester

11 May — The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham

14 May — Sneaky Pete’s, Edinburgh

15 May — Broadcast, Glasgow

24 May — Esquires, Bedford

25 May — Marrs Bar, Worcester

26 May — The Garibaldi Hotel, Northampton

27 May — Verve Bar, Leeds

01 June — The Garage, London

02 June — Jimmy’s NQ, Manchester

03 June — The Rocking Chair, Sheffield

10 June — The Shed, Leicester

13 June — The Hope & Ruin, Brighton

Originally published at Indie is not a genre.