Just met up at True University. From the left: Sudeep, Natasha, Emily, Vishnu, Evan, Olly, Emma, Quinton, Madisyn, Eric, Marta, Evelyn, me, and Max

A Summer With The True Entrepreneur Corps

And all of the amazing people I’ve met along the way

Indra Sofian
8 min readAug 9, 2016

--

It was November.

Outside my window, the sky was tinted dark blue, typical of a fall evening in Georgia. My room’s ceiling lights were off, leaving only the warm glow of my desk lamp and my computer’s bright screen. I sat there in my chair, staring at my laptop intently as it sat in my lap, blowing hot air across my legs. The feeling of the fans running in the computer tingled my skin through my thin polyester shorts.

It was only a couple of months after I had finished my last internship. I honestly didn’t enjoy the experience, and I wasn’t looking to repeat it again. Still, it was hard to ignore the pull of doing a summer internship when quite literally all of my friends around me were interviewing and announcing their new workplaces for the summer of 2016. So, with a bad taste in my mouth, I started to look for new opportunities.

But I didn’t want to work at a big company again. For some reason, it just didn’t sit with me. The feeling of smallness within the enormous gears of the corporate machine. The lack of spark I saw in many of the employees and even some of the interns. The strange sense of yearning that I felt, like I had to do something that meant more than just a bi-weekly paycheck. I knew I wanted to…

--

--

Indra Sofian

Co-Founder of @soraschools. @GeorgiaTech '18. Talk to me about education reform, startups, diversity. Prev @startupexchange @contrarycapital @trueventures