Artist statement. What are my paintings about.

Inessa Kalabekova
2 min readFeb 22, 2020

--

David Hockney says: “Drawing requires three components: heart, hand and eye. If you remove one, it won ‘t work.”

Then I was a child my grandmother told me a lot of amazing stories. We sat in the evening by the fireplace and her kind and attentive voice wrapped up, calmed down and we were amazed with her fairy tales.

How great it would be about me. My grandmother was very different. She often drank moonshine, which she made with white lollipops and smoked a “Belomor Canal” cigarette without a filter. Which she folded in a special way into two sides. Holding a cigarette flotation in the right corner of her mouth and not taking it out, she spoke to us. But we always had our pockets packed with white lollipops. She handed them to us, as we dug into her house from the street in between yard games. Grandma lived next to us.

My childhood is filled with magical stories. All these stories revolve in my head and doesn’t find a way out. I must paint them. Because I can`t keep them all for myself. I paint what is filled my childhood memories. Tales and amazing stories were and are part of me, and I paint a beautiful world that was born there in distant times and continues to fuss within me and gives no rest. Looking for a way out and finding it in my art works.

I paint the delight of a frosty day when you fall out to your home all icy and straight to the warm place.

I paint a forest and secrets under every rock. Hospital for ants in grandma ‘s house. Orchard garden with small apples. And what a happiness it is to open a jar of preserve sugared apples and put a whole apple in your mouth.

I paint me running from a hill with open hands, and you’re a flying plane and there’s not enough air. And everyone runs after you, too, both your Mom, Aunt, and even your older sister.

Maybe I dream up all my childhood memories and filled myself with them. I am warm and cosy with them. How warm it would be at the fireplace with Grandma.

What’s a beautiful world is around us. How free, creative and how diverse.

How can I tell about beauty in a different way? I paint and emulate the nature. I paint and tell a fairy tales. I paint and fill everything that comes to my hands — the notebooks, the sheets, the canvas, and the hearts.

Artist Inessa K

www.InessaK.com

https://www.instagram.com/artist_inessak/

--

--

Inessa Kalabekova

Loving, living and making art in pragmatic Singapore. Artist, mother, dancer, psychologist. Here my raw views and findings on all things art. www.InessaK.com