ARTIST Interview : DIAZABLE

influxwave
3 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

Do you like metal? Please introduce yourself

I f**kin love metal, but I love hardcore music more. Pretttty, anything you can spinkick to, count me in lol. Hi, my name is Matthew Gamble, 임국수, Mr. Noodle, Matty, or Baby Noodle, and the list goes on ha.

Your art has a metal and tattoo feel. What kind of artist are you?

Yeth! I guess if I had to put a label on it, I am a digital artist who wants to make brutal, horrific, and ugly art but also make cute art at the same time.

Can you introduce your brand?

My brand is a hardcore / metal-inspired apparel brand with a bit of cuteness added in to make things fun.

Why did you go into business while doing art in Korea?

I got tired of being a teacher in Korea, and my friend encouraged me to get back into art and design. So in my head, I was like, “F**k yeah! I’m down for that! F**k dem kids, bahahah.” I wasn’t planning on going into business here; it just happened. (Kids are cool; I just felt like I just reached a weird ceiling in being a teacher and felt creatively stifled.)

What kind of artistic activities do you want to do in the future?

I want to do more physical art using different materials. I want to work with acrylics, oil pastels, spray paint, sculpting clay, etc. I want to test my skills and see what I’m good at and how I can apply my nasty and cute art to other mediums.

Is music an important inspiration for art for you?

Abso-f**kin-lutely! Nothing brings me greater joy these days than being in a space, putting my playlist on shuffle, and starting to come up with designs. One minute I got death metal blasting, and that will make my art more erratic, or I get some soft R&B songs to help calm my strokes down, and then I get some pop music to make me smile and want to use bright colors. Music just lets me vibe and get wild, and that’s what I need to thrive in life at this point in my life. And a good slice of pizza or noodles.

https://www.instagram.com/diazabledesign

https://www.instagram.com/influxwave_interview/
https://ko-fi.com/influxwave

--

--