First cohort of Innovation Fellows also announced

Image for post
Image for post

WILMINGTON, FEB. 4, 2019 — The First State Fintech Lab (“the Lab”) announced the appointment of an Advisory Board comprised of state and national leaders to further support Delaware as a national and global financial technology leader. The Lab also announced the appointment of it’s first cohort of Innovation Fellows.

The Advisory Board plays a key role in directing and informing the work of the Lab. It is a collective, highly-focused group of industry, government, academic, and community leaders whose purpose is to ask and answer big questions and drive systemic change in order to strengthen and grow the fintech sector in the First State.

Innovation Fellows engage the challenges and opportunities of financial technology for Delaware. They work to identify problems in the community, speak with and support those currently developing solutions and new initiatives, help find and develop new talent, and help coordinate stakeholder efforts.

“Global competition for financial technology companies and entrepreneurs grows every day,” said Lab co-founder John Collins. “In our Advisory Board we have assembled a diverse, world class group of leaders who see the potential Delaware has to be a financial technology leader. As the rewiring of traditional financial relationships takes place, we need to make sure that no one is left behind.”

The First State Fintech Lab’s Advisory Board includes:

  • J.C. Boggs, Partner, King & Spalding. Fmr U.S. Senate Banking Committee Counsel
  • Lynn Bromley, Founder and Principal, Fintech Advocate
  • Chip Connolly, Partner, Connolly Gallagher
  • Doneene Damon, Current Executive Vice President and President-Elect, Richards Layton & Finger, P.A.
  • Yaya Fanusie, Senior Fellow, Foundation for Defense of Democracies (FDD)
  • Megan Hannigan, Paypal
  • Aurora Harshner, Director of Recruiting, Coinbase
  • Sarah Hody, Attorney, Perkins Coie
  • Brian Knight, Director of Innovation and Governance and a Senior Research Fellow, Mercatus Center, George Mason University
  • Sarah Long, President and CEO, Delaware Bankers Association
  • Tim McTaggart, Fmr Delaware State Banking Commissioner
  • Robert Morgan, Vice President, Emerging Technology, American Bankers Association
  • Patrick Murck, Fellow, Berkman Klein Center, Harvard University
  • Daniel Quan, Managing Partner, Banks Street Advisory. Fmr Senior Advisor to the CFPB Director
  • Bryon Short, Fmr Delaware State Representative
  • Gene Truono, Fmr Chief Compliance Officer, Paypal

The First State Fintech Lab’s Innovation Fellows includes:

  • Paul Ayala
  • Jonathan Wood

About the First State Fintech Lab

The First State Fintech Lab, founded in 2018, is a non-profit organization dedicated to making Delaware a global financial technology leader. We achieve our mission by supporting awareness, education, and democratization of opportunity. We believe there’s a unique chance to bring underserved populations access to capital and opportunity, while driving overall economic growth. The Lab works to support public-private cooperation, bolster Delaware’s talent pipeline, and support access to opportunity for all Delawareans.

Written by

Making Delaware a financial technology leader

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store