Sequence Beat Sheet (12 Sequences)


You split your story into twelve parts and then you organize your scenes in each of them.

This is NOT a common approach to Sequences, but it will help you with your Story Design.

You’re going to hear about using 8 Sequences, which is great as well, but it’s only double four.

Some prefer four, some eight, some nine, others twelve I’ll leave you to decide which works best for you.

This is not a how-to manual for your Sequences, it’s a general outline to get you going in the right direction.

Sequence 1

Ordinary World — We experience the Ordinary world of the Protagonist.

Sequence 2

The Call — The Protagonist is given the Call to Adventure.

Sequence 3

Debate — The Protagonist debates whether or not to accept the call to adventure.

Sequence 4

Break into Two — The protagonist accepts the call.

Sequence 5

Complication or Diversion — The Protagonist’s First Problem or Introduce a Subplot (B Story).

Sequence 6

Fun and Games — This is the Promise of the Premise and where you provide the excitement and rush of your story’s Hook. At the end, the Midpoint happens with some sort of Twist.

Sequence 7

Bad Guys Close In — After all the excitement and the Protagonist showing off, the Antagonist steps forward to prove he’s the greatest.

Sequence 8

Break into Three — After the Antagonist’s onslaught, the Protagonist encounters Death (Complication). After the Antagonist’s onslaught, the Protagonist encounters Heaven (Diversion).

Sequence 9

Protagonist’s New Plan — Protagonist devises Plan to defeat Antagonist.

Sequence 10

Execute Plan — The Protagonist executes his new plan.

Sequence 11

Twist — The Antagonist tricks the Protagonist!

Sequence 12

Finale — Final Battle between Protagonist and Antagonist.

Denouement — Show how the world’s improved with the Protagonist’s Transformation.

Show your support

Clapping shows how much you appreciated Miquiel Banks’s story.