THE CRITICS DO NOT CHOOSE YOUR PATH

Kathryn Hampton
2 min readApr 11, 2019

--

Originally posted on www.handmade-entrepreneur-life.com

Have you lost your mind? I can’t believe you are just going to throw your education away! What kind of example are you setting for your children? These are just a few of the things that were said to me when I decided that I would not return to my job as a registered nurse in the ICU.

I announced my decision to focus on building my handmade business and I was met with an enormous amount of judgment and criticism.

You see, my husband had suffered a serious injury. In an instant, my priorities changed from climbing the ladder within the hospital to figuring out a way to support my family while also being at home as much as possible. Given my situation at the time, I thought for sure I would have support but that was far from the case.

While the lack of support was hurtful, it ended up being an amazing gift.

Weird, right?

It was a gift because it fueled me to work even harder to prove everyone wrong.

Now, five years later, I have built a handmade business that replaces more than what I would have ever made in my position at the hospital.

The point is not to brag about how I built a profitable business.

The point is that if I would have listened to the criticism, I would have never taken the chance at pursuing the lifestyle I really wanted. If I would have let the critics choose my path, I would have also allowed them to limit my potential growth.

By choosing your own path, you also choose your own potential. So, drown out the haters and show everybody you’ve got what it takes.

--

--

Kathryn Hampton

Creative entrepreneur sharing strategies and insight for building a thriving handmade business from home. 💖 Be your own boss, doing what you love.