MY BIRTHDAY WISH

Lewis Preston
4 min readOct 31, 2019

This week I will turn another year older and a bit wiser, but this year my heart is heavy because for the first time my parents are not with me.

My parents, Walter H. Preston Sr. and Marion E. Nelson have both passed on. I sit here writing about all the birthday cards and phone calls they made on our birthdays. Not being able to hear from them this week has hit me like a ton of bricks. I feel the weight of sadness knowing I will not hear from them for the very first time in my life. No calls or birthday cards. However, I am reminiscing and will always have the memories their phone calls and cards brought me. I lean into these few truths that my parents instilled in each of their four boys.

First is FAMILY! They always taught us that no matter what, that family always sticks together. I am a living testimony of that as my family has been through some tough times recently as I continue to grow the business. As a family, we have not always agreed, but we have always had each other’s backs. Mom and Dad always made sure to remind us that if you cannot TRUST family, then who can you trust?

Second is LOVE! In each card or call as we got older, my Mom and Dad always mentioned that they loved us. As I think back on certain cards or calls, we would specifically discuss some moments from years past or some feat with our kids that they would compare to when we were growing up. I knew that my parents loved me no matter the circumstances and that was enough to get through the tough days. To hear your parents tell you they love you, is an…

--

--