What’s inside a field researcher’s bag?

Ingrid Ramón Parra, PhD
8 min readJan 28, 2018

--

In 2015, I went to do my doctoral research in the Brazilian Amazon. I wasn’t sure what items I was going to need to be a successful ethnographer. I’ve learned a lot since then, and I’ve made a short list of things I think belong in a field researcher’s bag.

I was so incredibly lucky to be in my field site. I was living in the Amazon forest in a Kayapó village…a researcher’s dream! However, my field site did come with it’s own set of unique challenges. I did not have access to electricity. Running water was only available for certain hours in the day. The humidity, heavy rains, dust and forest creatures were all a threat to my field equipment. I thought about the fragility of my precious, precious field notes!

I learned so much about what it’s like to do fieldwork in a unique environment, and the items pictured here are those I found to be absolutely essential in the field. This list is not exhaustive, it is a basic list of very important items.

Here’s what’s in my field bag:

  1. Pocket notebooks: These small but durable notebooks are perfect for field jottings. They carry easily in a pocket or small pack, and are meant to be handled and worn so there’s no worry about keeping their condition pristine. The page sizes and amount of pages are just right, so if you lose one of these notebooks they are easily replaceable. They fill up quite quickly and pages are rarely left blank. This is a plus if you’re like me and you love filling up your notebooks from cover to cover. No page goes unscathed in the hands of a field researcher!
  2. Plastic Folders: I bought these when I was in-country and was so glad that I did. I recommend the see-through kind. See a great brochure you’d like to keep? Did an informant give you a lose paper note? Need to safeguard important research permits or interview questions? These folders are perfect for keeping all these paper things! The see-through type allows you to peek into their contents. These were an excellent addition to my field bag and I actually bought these after I arrived to my field site. Pro tip: If you are in a high humidity or unpredictable weather environment, laminating important documents like interview questions, research permits, or organizational support letters WILL save you!
  3. An old smartphone you don’t care about: This old iPhone has been through A LOT. I once read a cheeky comment online that said you can tell how someone is doing in life by looking at the condition of their phone screen. Ha! This phone was very kind to me in the field. I took great quality images, videos, recorded interviews, messaged family and friends and even listened to some podcasts on this phone. The genius of using an old smartphone is that not only is it very versatile, but it also removes some of the “Hi, I’m a dorky researcher” factor that can work against us while in-field. For example, I found that using this phone to record interviews made things much smoother than using an actual audio recorder. People are used to seeing smartphones (thanks to the ubiquity of phones!), and are more comfortable around them. Recorders, on the other hand, can be off-putting to interviewees. In my experience, they were perceived as too formal by some informants. Even without a reliable internet connection, interviews and images can easily be downloaded into your computer at the end of the day. The sound quality is quite good, too. Pro tip: An “unattractive” older model like the one I used is also less attractive to people who might be interested in stealing your phone. Phone theft, and general electronics theft, can be really high in certain places. As a researcher, avoiding important equipment and oh-please-no! data theft is part of keeping our sanity intact.
  4. Data Transfer Tools: You should have external hard drives, USB drives, SD cards, SD card drives, cables, etc. and any other data transfer tools you might need based on your equipment. This allows you to transfer data from phone or notebook to your computer daily. External hard drives allows you to back up your computer’s contents, and to make those obligatory second copies of precious data that you swore under oath you’d do as a responsible member of the Very Serious Researchers of the World Committee. Pro tip: Password-protect any external hard drives and use encryption services if you upload any sensitive information into a cloud service. Also, have both Mac and PC compatible drives. Why? You might find yourself in a small internet cafe needing to access information and/or print something. You’ll find mostly Windows machines in such cafes!
  5. Sensory Detail Capture: The sensory details of the field never leave us! However, it’s always great to capture more than just written data of your research environment. I used a Shure microphone to capture songs, everyday ‘noises’ and wildlife sounds when I was in the Brazilian Amazon. Being a researcher is more than just taking notes and doing interviews, it’s a phenomenological experience. Immerse yourself in the sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and textures. Always capture a bit of the field to keep with you, material and ephemeral field memories go a very long way in understanding people and their environments. When I listen to some of the environmental sounds I captured, a part of me is brought closer to the field, especially during write-up phases of reports or theses. You don’t need to get a separate microphone to do this, you can use your phone for this too! (Refer to #3). I used this microphone because I was also connecting it to a camera for better sound. Otherwise, the phone would have sufficed. Pro tip: Listening to field recordings might make you a little sentimental!
  6. Post-its. Don’t need to say much here since we all know how useful they can be! Take notes, create labels, post them up on your wall, write down quotes, create a mood board…make sure you have at least a pack with you. Pro tip: Depending on where you’re doing field research, Post-its and similar products are not always easy to find in stores. I had a hard time finding them in Brazil.
  7. Small notebook: Ah, the notebook! Such a loving relationship can develop between a researcher and her notebook. In this relationship, the researcher is quite the needy one because without a good, sturdy, quality notebook…life can get kind of hard. I like notebooks with a hard cover, thick pages, sewn-bound, and preferably dotted (good for sketching). I also love those handy pockets at the end! This notebook is an intermediary between the jottings notebook (refer to #1) and more detailed digital field notes you’ll do in the mornings or at the end of the day. For me, the quality of the notebook really matters. Other researchers may have other qualities that matter to them. Pro tip: A notebook you love, is a notebook you’ll write in often.
  8. Sketchbook and Color pencils: I just love colors and shapes. Sometimes, describing these types of visual field details using just words can lead to colorless descriptions. ;) A small sketchbook and colored pencils are just what you need for capturing such details. I prefer to have a separate sketch book because I don’t like using too much precious space in my field notebook (refer to #7). Sometimes I’m drawing out site details and mess up, and need to use another separate page. Other times, I want multiple details and multiple drawings of the same thing, a sketchbook affords this. Sketching also attunes the eye to detail, which I found to be a great way of sharpening my way of seeing. It slows me down and I notice small details that might have slipped my radar had I only been writing. Coloring pencils bring color and detail to life, and who doesn’t love field notes that include vibrant pops of color! Pro tip: You sketches don’t have to be perfect and you don’t need special permissions or trainings to sketch. Just do it. If you’re like me, your sketches won’t be great and you’ll be proud of those ugly little sketchies anyway.
  9. Field laptop and/or Field Tablet: One of these two is necessary for typing up your field notes. It’s just something us researchers must do. I really liked using a tablet with a bluetooth keyboard when I was in-field because it was the perfect low-energy way of getting digital field notes done. I didn’t have reliable energy access when I did my field work so having the tablet option was a winning combination. However, a field laptop might be more appropriate if there is reliable energy if your field context. Pro tip: If your field site is abroad, the Mac and PC option becomes more of an issue if you are a Mac user. Many countries abroad are much less invested in the Mac market, so always make sure you can operate across platforms. Also, beware of evil computer viruses while abroad if you are a Windows user!
  10. Durable pouch: I’m a sucker for a good pouch and a good pocket! I use pouches for pencils, pens, ruler, sharpener, and other data transfer tools (refer to #4). It keeps things organized, packable and easy to throw in a bag in a short time’s notice. Like folders, pouches are unsung and humble heroes. Pro tip: I would invest in waterproof bags and pouches if you’re working in a very rainy environment, or traveling often in oceans, rivers, or lakes.
  11. Research Methods book: It’s really tempting to want to take an entire library with you when you’re doing fieldwork. Who am I without my books?, you ask yourself, feeling the pangs of an oncoming existential crisis. Fret not, field researcher! Bring digital copies of books with you for when you need some inspirational or research reading. Although digital books are an excellent option, especially for extended field situations, it is wise to have at least one book on research methods in-hand. You can reference this book easily in your hotel room, field home, or out in a café. You can quickly double check methods, look for new ones, or try something new if your situation permits. Pro tip: Choose a methods book that isn’t too big or too cumbersome to have around, otherwise you’re less likely to crack it open.
  12. Miscellaneous things: You know yourself, and you know there are certain things you just need. For me, a pair of headphones and lip balm are really essential. They don’t take up too much room and aren’t worth much, but they make such a difference in my day. I’d also add sunglasses, sunscreen, and a hat to this list. Everyone’s list is different, but make sure you don’t forget your essentials back home. Pro tip: Make sure your essentials travel well, aren’t affected by changing climates, and are few and not many.
  13. Pens, pencils, fine-tip markers: Of course, it almost goes without saying. Almost. You need pens and pencils if you’re writing field notes and sketching. Some researchers are particular about their writing utensils and others are more lax. I’m somewhere in between. I like micro-fine tip pens and mechanical pencils, but I don’t like any particular brand. I also carry a small, durable brass ruler. I carry multiple pens, fine-tip markers, and pencils. I think you should, too. Pro tip: I’ve had so many pens burst in airplanes..that’s why I carry multiples!

This list is short but it reflects what I’ve learned in my field journeys. I have other lists in the making, like one where I list good clothing options for female field researchers. Stay tuned for more!

Is there something I missed that you find absolutely essential for field research? I’d love to hear what’s in your field bag!

--

--