INI — Memories of the Audition Period & Healing During the Camp

INI Global Fanbase
4 min readJul 22, 2021

--

Original article in Japanese: https://more.hpplus.jp/odekake/entame/68533/2/

The very popular survival audition show “PRODUCE 101 JAPAN SEASON 2,” which had its final episode on June 13, gave birth to the 11-member global boy group INI. DAILY MORE caught up with the 11-member global boy group, INI, the day after they were announced as the next big thing.

In this second exclusive DAILY MORE interview, we’ll talk about their most memorable moments during the audition process and the healing power of training camp!

Click below if you want to read it from the first interview!

https://medium.com/@ini_globalfan/ini-exclusive-interview-1-the-night-of-the-member-selection-memories-of-the-audition-period-15cea9c83d7

PROFILE

INI is an 11-member boy group that was chosen to debut from the survival audition program “PRODUCE 101 JAPAN SEASON 2.” The group consists of Masaya Kimura, Hiromu Takatsuka, Shogo Tajima, Kyosuke Fujimaki, Takumi Ozaki, Hiroto Nishi, Jun Matsuda, Fengfan Xu, Rihito Ikezaki, Yudai Sano and Takeru Goto. The group’s name means “11 of us (I) who met in PRODUCE 101 JAPAN SEASON 2 will connect with you (I) (Network)” and their debut single will be released within 2021.

Rihito: Gaining my own “weapon” has helped me grow.

(From left) Shogo, Rihito, Hiroto (Dosu Koi Club)

DAILY MORE: Continuing from last time, what was your most memorable experience during the audition period?

Yudai: The most memorable part for me was the first level evaluation. It was the first time in my life that I had performed on such a large stage, so I was very nervous, but there was also a part of me that was excited. It was a new feeling for me, and one I’ll never forget!

Rihito: For me, the position battle was a turning point. I had always wanted to rap, but my skills were lacking, so I didn’t have much confidence in my rapping in the battles up to that point. However, through position battles in which I wrote my own lyric, I gained confidence in my rapping and came to think of rapping as a “weapon.” Also, more than anything else, the friendly competition with my teammates Shogo and Hiroto helped me grow.

DAILY MORE: Speaking of RIhito, your “violation dance video” was also very popular……!

Everyone: (laughs)

Rihito: That wasn’t a turning point or anything. haha

Shogo: My turning point was dancing against the law. hahaha

Rihito: When I reviewed it myself, I thought it was funny. But now I’ve grown up, if only a little! Thanks for the violation dance ……haha

Everyone: (laughs)

Shogo: For me, all of them are turning points, but I would say the two “Infinity” groups in the group battle are the most memorable. In the first team evaluation battle, I was the leader. It was a bit of an exploration, but I was blessed with really wonderful members. It’s a group I’ll never forget.

Kyosuke: For me, it was the stage for the position battle “Hanataba no kawari ni melody wo” (Melody instead of a bouquet). I wasn’t able to watch the broadcast during the camp, but the staff around me told me, “We’re getting a lot of positive reactions! I remember how happy I was. The teamwork was really good, and I think that’s what led to this kind of great reactions.

Masaya: It’s not a turning point, but one thing that left an impression on me was my lifestyle during the audition period. We practiced from 9:00 in the morning until about midnight every day. I went back to the dormitory and planned to lie down, but I woke up at 5:00 a.m.. Looking back on it now, it’s a good memory. haha

(from left) Hiromu, Kyosuke (Taka-Maki)

The healing power of the training camp was the food and the “face of the person”!?

(from left) Takeru , Yudai , Takumi (Prince of Naniwa)

DAILY MORE: What was your “comfort” during the tough training camp?

All: Food!

Yudai: I was looking forward to it so much.

Jin: I like curry and rice, and I always had another bowl of rice on curry days.

Masaya: Didn’t you have three more bowls? haha

Jin: I ate so much that I had to work hard in the afternoon practice with a full stomach!

Hiromu: Speaking of rice, you also prepared a lot of instant Sundubu and Gomtang for the evening meal. One time, one of the trainees put cup ramen noodles in the sundubu, and it was so delicious that everyone ate it after practice. haha

DAILY MORE: Everyone likes to mix things up. Like at the drink bar.

Rihito: The kind with orange juice and apple juice. haha

Shogo: I used to put green tea and oolong tea together, too. My senses might have gone crazy. haha

Everyone: (laughs)

Takumi: My comfort during the training camp was Yudai’s face. He’s still like that, but he’s always got a blank look on his face.

Yudai: I don’t!

Takumi: Sometimes I looked at Yudai’s face and it healed me. haha

Takeru: I should have a face that can heal people too!

Jin: No, no, no, I think your face already inspires the fans to do their best just by looking at it.

Takeru: (smiling with shyness)

That’s all for this time. In the next article, we’ll be talking about our memories of living in the dormitory. Look forward to it!

Exclusive INI Photos and Behind-the-Scenes Stories!

[INI Exclusive Interview 1] The Night of the Member Selection & Memories of the Audition Period

--

--

INI Global Fanbase

Global INI fan account supports their activities and international fans! | INIグローバルファンアカウントです。メンバーの活動や世界中のファンを応援します! Instagram: @ini_globalfan