Boy Math is Trending … 3 Trends & a Baby (relationship)

K. Henry @henryhealing444
5 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Boy math ~ Girl math … is it funny? Degrading? Venting? Blowing off steam? Problem solving?

It’s all of the above. Add in some experts and we have ourselves some freedom of speech (sort of?).

Something that we are promised in our declaration of indie artisan Venti-venting.

What’s ‘boy math’?

boy math/girl math explained

I have 61 drafts & only 22(3?) published blogedy blogs here on Medium. This is not a book made. But in MY boy math mind, “This is a book!” LOL

I keep writing them, then closing the page. Writing chapters for my actual book(s), then closing the laptop. Writing my Kindle Vella, then not publishing them.

That math doesn’t add up (for a writing career). BOY math would be publishing exclusively on Medium, expecting a book deal by people who find us.

Girl math is the manifesting an irrational ideal that I will land a 6-figure deal based on all the years I’ve been giving away my work with the promise of,

“But you’ll get so much exposure by publishing for free for us!”.

That’s girl math. Irrational. Over-estimating. Out of touch with reality.

In reality?

I’m in a phase of change. So many of us are. Maybe, that’s why we’re here. Publishing work for free. I’m considering this my sample book (like carpet swatches in the pre-sale phase). I used to spend so much time trying to prove my writing chops.

I’m actually grateful to the people I used to write for. They gave me a platform. It was up to me to decide what to do for and with it. Like, that time that when the whole ‘karen’ thing heated up here in the states, i wanted to change my name to Aren. Still will. Just not yet. It’s costly and time consuming. With them, all I had to do was ask, and it was honored. Immediately.

I’ve now worked for 4 behavioral/mental health companies post-academia. Not a single one of them was respectful enough to call me by my preferred name. They sure as shit tell everyone to use our pronouns to be respectful to others though. Whew. That’s a sticking point that seems more like boy math. And another reason to recalculate what I do for a living. :/

Today? I’m more interested in two things.

  1. Proving nothing because I’m so focused on leveling up which includes a peaceful wave of silence, peace, prosperity, and whimsy of course.
  2. Loving that the internet knows how to have fun. It’s not all toxic drivel or overly serious conversations.

So here we sit, wishing people well, loving our own peace, enjoying the new found playfulness of a lot of micro learning fun in the sun. Or, at least a new found need for some more laughter & peace. I’ve been focused on very serious, usually sad and always important yet, infuriating topics for a long long time.

TELL me this isn’t going to be the smile heard round the world of romance novel writing? Ha! It’s already on the minds of millions of whimsical creatives. And come on … that’s a hell of a smile. From the NFL of all places!

The idea of following the Taylor/Travis story is whimsical. Why NOT be a big fan of Taylor Swift & all the good things happening for her right now?

Try following all the awful things that happen to innocent people every day for over a decade. You’d want to find the light too.

It’s sort of serendipity that NOW that I want out ~ it’s trending.

Work place bullying is trending

Social bullying is trending

Domestic bullying … trending.

It’s about time people are finally finding a space to speak up. Considering that’s been a huge part of my job for the past couple of decades, I’m here for it.

On the other hand, it’s heavy to carry the weight of that much violence. Injustice lives rent free in my head all day. I needed a distraction.

This is EXACTLY why people love the happier, more fun, less serious trends. Like The #Traylorverse new love story between Taylor Swift (I’m a Swiftie) and Travis Kelse (never heard of him until Sunday, but he seems to be having fun with his life).

Y’all.

If the world wants to have fun falling in love with the idea of the current most influential young woman in pop culture who is literally changing the music industry. The football player is adorable. The internet is blowing up with speculation and well wishes for them.

Why?

Because why not?

Only toxic people are saying anything mean or disrespectful about them. Only the bethany frankl’s of the world who seem jealous, or the red hat wearing army of angry (mostly) men who are complaining. That math equals toxic workplace environments for attention. Just sayin’

Good gravy.

Shake it off already!

The hater’s gonna hate, hate hate. Do y’all have bad blood?

If most of us want to live in a lavender lake of love by watching a love story straight out of a romance writer’s playbook, then we are going to.

The world needs a serious dose of being enchanted.

The point isn’t about being too invested in the actual relationship, or getting into their business.

The point is that it’s whimsical and fun to speculate.

If it adds up, keep it. If it doesn’t add up, dump it.

When you find something that brings you joy, hold on to it. Enjoy it. Savor that laughter or fun.

There’s a lot of darkness out there folks.

It’s 100% worth it to live in the world, then celebrate that life.

Like a Taylor Swift song.

:)

KH

Have some fun!

IF you need to get out of an ‘ick’ relationship, seek the help of the information highway. I have loads of info. on my FB page dedicated to resources & tidbits for how NOT to fall for the wrong sort of person for you. K. Henry @henryhealing444

If you want to follow the happily ever after … just #romancewriters & your particular tastes, be it Christian Romance, Vampire Romance, or Contemporary romance … there is something for everyone. Some like it saucy, others? A bit more … intellectual.

I started following #booktok & #writerTok to find new-to-me authors. You can to.

Now .. remember, math is a universal language. So is love. So are our emotional need for connection.

Just have fun, enjoy the moment & leave people’s private lives alone.

Unless you’re a writer. Then, get busy writing. Nobody’s going to hand it to you.

(Unless … they are). The Moms of the world are here for you Tay Swift :)

xoxo

--

--