Finnish Design Museum

Inna Kozhurina
4 min readFeb 4, 2018

--

Review

Recently I visited my sister who lives in Helsinki and one of my goals in Finland was Finnish design museum. If you want to know about amasing clothes from Marimmekko, to watch on the vase “Leaver pants of Eskimo woman” by Alvar Aalto and to look at the story of Angry birds you will find and visit this space. The main part of the museum dedicate to product design.

When I moved from the railway station to the museum I found the Marimmekko shop by chance. Of course it was impossible, to refrain from visiting of this, because I knew that some production of this brand waits me in the museum. So I made a few photos with different prints on clothes and bags.

In the museum I bought student ticket costing 6€ and started the excursion. The first one interested thing I have seen was handle for forest pile combine This thing looks not like triggers but like very comfortable joystick. Moreover I found it very ergonomically and comfortable for long using. If you want to use same mashine, you can do it without problems because all buttons are placed near your fingers. On this video you can see how it works.

Next part of exposition is production by Alvar Aalto and Iittala. There are different vases, glasses and plates. Sketches which influence on final design was not very detailed so I found it interesting because they was drown to show the ideas only. One of vases has called “Leather pants of Eskimo woman” but due to one restoran with Aalto’s interiors calles “Savoy”, now the vase has the same name.

Leather pants of Eskimo woman

It make me exited that I could find in the museum story of usual things which I may buy in every market and use every day. After the excursion my sister’s husband showed me cup by Iitala using by him for tea.

On these pictures you can find other objects I have seen. It is not my goal to tell you about all exposition but to show you how usual things have borned and that we can see the result of designers work presented in the museum.

P.S. These are the short story of Angry Birds development :) I made only 2 photos with them but in the museum you can find a lot.

--

--