A garden in the clouds. Part 1

English breakfast and more
3 min readAug 25, 2022

--

More recently, walking through the rose garden in Mottisfont, I remembered about the amazing garden, which was not easy to get to. In the literal and figurative sense of the word. But of course it was worth the effort.

What thoughts do you have when looking at this amazing building? Photo from the personal archive

I’m sure they’re not botanical. But in vain! It is on the roof of this majestic building that there is a stunning garden. Sky Garden.

A welcome sign. The building itself is on the right. Photo from the personal archive

It is worth going up to the roof, even if only because of the stunning view of the city of London. But also the most impressive view of the Tower of London.

And here is the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. Photo from the personal archive

But to tell the truth, it’s not easy to get here. We had to book a couple of weeks for a visit. We received a ticket indicating the date and time when you can view the garden. And being punctual people, we came to London to the Sky Garden building at exactly the appointed time. It didn’t help. We had to stand in a huge queue. The building is nicknamed the Walkie Talkie, “walkie talkie” in other words, because it is so curved-concave, like a two way radio)).
We were checked at the entrance by the security guards and we flew 160 m up in the elevator. Did I mention that I’m afraid of heights? That’s where I really understood what height is.

As you can see, there is no joy on his face. My knees were shaking and the phone was in my hands too)) Photo from the personal archive

But the heavenly garden was worth all this effort!

Photo from the personal archive
Photo from the personal archive

Wherever the eye could see, the green velvet sea was swaying. The air was fragrant. Exotic flowers shook their lovely heads, palm trees aspired their delicate leaves to the glass ceiling. It was a real luxury and a riot of greenery…

Спасибо за прочтение. Продолжение следует…

Thanks for reading. To be continued…

If you enjoyed reading please like and follow me, I would also be grateful if you would consider buying me a coffee at ko-fi.

My blog is also available in Russian here if you have time please visit and like, it is greatly appreciated.

--

--

English breakfast and more

Blogging about life and adventures in England as an expat please follow me, like my posts and comment I can also be found at https://linktr.ee/innagregory