LIFELINE: A call to the Bitcoin, Ethereum, Nebulas, Monero, LTC, Crypto Community

In Prayers For A Lifeline
4 min readFeb 17, 2018

--

It is 7:20 PM on Friday, February 16, 2018: This officially marks 22 hours without food. I cannot smile, I cannot focus, I cannot think, I cannot sleep. I have never thought about committing suicide, but I am embarrassed to admit that is no longer true. I just love my family too much to actually go through with it.

I grew up in Carson, CA and was blessed enough to attend UCLA. As a child of immigrant parents, I came from low-income housing and could not afford tuition. This put me in position to take out loans. Watching my student debt pile up led me to committing the worst decision of my life. In July of 2017, I made an agreement to borrow $10k to pay off a portion of my UCLA debt. I agreed to pay back this loan in 4 bitcoins, which at the time were valued at $2.5k each. For anybody who has followed the price of bitcoin, the past few months have been hell for me. March 1st is when this debt must be repaid.

I graduated this past year from UCLA and started my first career job in Orange County, CA as of December 2017. I accepted a full-time salary of $40k. I have saved a large portion of my salary, but my biweekly checks of $1.3k does not put me anywhere near the amount needed. This decision has affected me financially, but most importantly, it has destroyed me mentally. The combination of debt and constant anxiety over how I’m possibly going to turn 2 months of biweekly $1.3k paychecks into roughly $45k has created a human being I am not familiar with. My entire life now revolves around the consequences of this agreement. I have begun to hate myself; I can’t look in the mirror, I have lost fifteen pounds, I bite my nails consistently, my anxiety levels are at an all-time high, and my stomach growls yet I have no appetite. I genuinely believe I have lost all happiness.

I wake up every day and check GDAX’s price in prayer that the price has dropped so I can finally move forward with my life. Yet, I am constantly reminded that I put myself in this situation; there is nobody else to blame. As March 1st approaches, the side effects have become detrimental. I need help.

So here I am: begging for a lifeline from the crypto community. I yearn for the day I can pay off my debt; to never take money as a loan ever again. I promise myself that I will use this second chance as fuel: fuel to breathe without anxiety, fuel to smile, fuel to eat, fuel to focus on my career, fuel to one day give back more than what I am asking for, fuel to be happy, and lastly, fuel to one day love myself again.

I recognize nobody feels sorry for me and the fact that I’m anonymous makes it worse. But I am in dire need of a miracle and all I have left is hope for a mulligan on life.

Below are wallets I have created for donations. Any little contribution would work wonders toward the 4 bitcoins owed (I do not want a penny over). I solely want to move on with my life and finally be able to appreciate my peripherals.

BTC address

1D5peqkoKXiHP4nHkXMXmWzPUVeWzG7Mtj

Ethereum / Nebulas / ERC20 Address

0x842E1c0013e50DE59aF8122E09157ADf8E73aF28

BCASH Address

bitcoincash:qztt2fe8th37tutgseh6ujusm00f26dxy5hm59un0p

LTC address

LZ1SQ8CHmAvUCYZP82XRYkHMH64XhLaz9Z

DASH address

XrzHHYnMNBuQqkmFkfH5YNp4WE6MUKKwGy

MONERO Address

47bWz6hD27SYKAjCGmtWpQ2kgozrFAR2QU7PcrEj7c4JaubS1rC5zgmWbwaVe4vUMveKAzAiA4j8xgUi29TpKXpm3wMedDC

DOGE Address

DSS9krkQue9CLQ2BJ4uGv4n3cBa5Z3AzX6

As for bitcoin, my experience with it has obviously caused endless stress and resentment. However, I am a believer in blockchain and its future. The blockchain is powerful beyond measure, it is a technology that has soul and a decentralized ideology that is unprecedented. I stand with you all, and as the iconic founder of Nebulas and Antshares (NEO), Hitters Xu, says “Yes, we believe!”. I am optimistic of our future in this self-governing world.

Much Love & no matter what: I will survive.

Postscript:

I intend to one day be strong enough on writing a follow up post, as a therapeutic release of emotion.

Regardless of the outcome, I hope my story will encourage others to learn from my mistakes.

  • Many thanks to those who spread my story. Comments, claps, retweets, and suggestions are much appreciated.

Learn more about Nebulas:

www.nebulas.io

Twitter: @nebulasio

Telegram(EN): t.me/nebulasio

Telegram(CN): https://t.me/nebulascn

--

--

In Prayers For A Lifeline

I have created this Medium Account in search of a second chance.