How I Made My First $2000 As A Software Engineer

IntelliCoder
3 min readJan 3, 2024

Today I will show you how I made my first $2000 with no prior work experience and no CV.

When I first started looking for Jobs online I was completely lost. After trying and trying I landed an interview for a small company in Gratz, Austria. After hopping on the call they asked me some questions i wasn’t prepared for and I sadly Failed.

After looking at my first loss, I figured that I would try out Freelancing. After doing some research, Fiverr and Upwork sounded like a great place to start. I started with Fiverr, after countless days of posting Gigs I was able to get someone to contact me. He asked for an AI Website like ChatGPT and was willing to offer only $20. On the meanwhile Upwork wasn’t any better. Clients would choose other Offers because I did not have any prior work experience in Upwork.

It hit me. Fiver and Upwork were not going to do the Job.

After stumbling across a friend, he told me to try out Reddit. This amazing reddit server called: Redditors for Hire → r/forhire, helped me get my first Job.

Redditors for Hire

After finding a couple of interesting projects that fit my skillset, I immediately wrote a comments and after writing a comment I sent them a message shortly explaining who I was and that I could take on the Job.

The first 4 clients I sent messages to resulted in Fails. The first 2 didn’t even answer and the second 2 said the will look unto it.

Then I saw a project, to rebuild a website that he already had an relaunch it. I immediately messaged this guy explaining who I was and he said that we can hop on a call and discuss. After joining the call he explained everything needed and what he expected from me.

I gladly accepted and started working right away. After finishing the website with within the first day with the help of some AI Tools. I messaged him the next day and told him everything was ready.

After reviewing the work, he sent me $280 through PayPal and I told him to write me a testimonial of work. After getting the money and the review I continued working on this server and after 4 weeks I gathered around $1200.

After gathering the Money and the Testimonials, I switched back to Fiverr.

Photo by Nathan da Silva on Unsplash

Thankfully after displaying my previews work and testimonials, I was able to get jobs much easier.

And after a whopping 7 weeks, I was able to win my First $2000!

A big achievement in My Career I must say.

Happy Coding, Developers! May your code bring success, bugs turn into treasure maps and your creativity pave the way for financial triumphs. 💻💸

--

--

IntelliCoder

Hey there! I'm IntelliCoder, crafting code and exploring tech with a smile. 🚀✨