Two Days Guide in Portland, Oregon!

Nate
8 min readOct 21, 2016

--

This is the best description for visiting Portland, Oregon.

After my Seattle trip, I flew down to Portland, Oregon. I was staying at the southeast neighbor of Portland. It was definitely a different kind of feeling I had. I didn’t know what to expect since Portland doesn’t have very famous architectures unlike Seattle or San Francisco. Nevertheless, I had a really great time here.

Why Portland?

  • A lot of parks and nature to explore. If you were willing to drive out (and it was your things), there were lots of beautiful parks and gardens to explore.
  • Cool weather similar to Seattle, but I personally think it’s better. There is more sunshine. However, if it was raining, you were basically a grumpy cat.
  • Nice and clean downtown area for the most part.
  • Great and relatively cheaper public transportation than San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Seattle.
  • No sales tax!!! This’d mean the price you see is the price you pay. Hoo ray it’s a shopping time.
  • Food trucks/carts!!!! Cheap and delicious food. (home of the world’s best street food)
  • Finally, it’s filled with awesomely weird stuff. Perhaps, this is why there is a bumper sticker “Keep Portland Weird”.
“I went to Oregon once. It rained.” Photo by Me.

What you need:

In addition to a daypack, bottles of water, a wallet, and your essentials,

  • A Day Pass Ticket (TriMet): $5 will get you a day pass with unlimited rides. This is a great deal and cheaper than many places I’ve visited. You can buy it on the bus — just tell a bus driver you need to buy a day pass. Once you get one, you just show it to a bus driver.
  • Compact&Small Umbrella: Just in case if it was raining.
  • Warm jacket or hoodie: When I was visiting Portland, it was in October and the weather was really chilly (around 60 to 70 degree F).

Day One: Downtown Portland

Since I was staying in Southeast neighborhood of Portland, the commute took a little bit of time. It wasn’t that bad. It was about 30 minutes by bus since I was crossing the bridge. My journey started right from the southern part of Portland.

Portland Aerial Tram

Upper station of Aerial Tram station.

Portland Aerial tram has one of the greatest views of Portland. I was told it was built for transporting patients since the upper station is OHSU Hospital. The best time to enjoy this ride is weekend because people who works at hospital are not using it. I’d say it was enjoyable and exciting ride. There was a swinging at the beginning and a little bit of bumping once it came to stop. Kids would love this. Once I reached the upper station, I could only explore around just for a little bit since most areas were off-limit for tourists, but enjoyed the view from the top. The ticket is $4.55 for a roundtrip.

Portland Museum

Museum Grounds Cafe is just right next to Portland Museum and outside installation arts.

Once I got off Portland aerial tram, I took Portland StreetCar train (or TriMet Max) up to downtown. I exited at Portland Museum. Honestly, I didn’t go inside any of the museums. However, there were sculptures, installation art, and cafe outside. They were good enough for taking selfies or photos.

Pioneer Courthouse Square Park and Courthouse

Pioneer Courthouse is just right across the square park.

I kept walking up north. Once I hit SW Yamhill street and sixth street, Pioneer Courthouse Square park was on my left and the courthouse was on my right. This park usually held an event — Oktoberfest was held when I was there. There were also the shopping mall and park nearby. However, I didn’t stop by until later in the day. I wanted to visit one of the MUST-SEE Portland places. Once I finished taking photos and a short break, I took TriMet Green line at sixth street for going north.

Portland China Town

I got off at sixth street and NW Davis street. Thereafter, I walked toward east of Davis street and then down fourth avenue. The chinatown gate was right in front of Burnside street. While there were shops and restaurants, Portland China town neighborhood wasn’t that pretty and it was packed with homeless people.

Voodoo Doughnuts

A lot of people waiting in the line in front of Voodoo donut shop.

This is A MUST visit place in Portland. Although the line is always long, it is opening late. Voodoo doughnuts is selling weird-shape/look and flavored donuts such as maple bacon flavor, the most famous voodoo-doll shape, Homer Simpson flavored flavor and etc. If you ordered at least six, they’d come in a pink box. It also sells souvenirs such as stickers, T-shirts, postcards and etc. Voodoo doughnuts isn’t only just a donut shop. It is also operating as a record label. Yes, you heard it right — it also sells music, CDs with free donut and merchandise.

Portland Saturday Market

Interesting and weird stuff I found at Portland Saturday market.

Just two block away east of Voodoo doughnuts shop, Portland Saturday market has a lot of interesting booths and shops from Portland local merchants — shopping time (no sales tax everywhere). I found a lot of (awesomely) weird things. It is also right next to Willamette river.

Burnside Bridge (Portland OldTown Sign)

Portland Oregon Old town sign.

Around 1st street, there is staircase led up to Burnside bridge. If you kept walking east and looked up northwest-ish, you would see Portland OldTown sign. It was a great spot for taking pictures.

Powell’s Books Store

Powell’s Book store at Burnside street.

I’ve spent a lot of my time at Powell’s Books store at Burnside street and 10th ave (located in Pearl District). It claims to be the world’s largest independent bookstore and it has over four millions books in its inventory. I’d say it is one of the coolest book stores I’ve been. Some people says Portland is a paradise for readers and I agree.

Food Carts Pod

One of my favorite food carts: Nong’s Khao Man Gai (Chicken rice).

Portland is the world’s best street food. Therefore, I wouldn’t miss this. I am a foodie! This food carts pod is located at Alder street and 10th ave and I was told this location is the original one. Some of the food carts did not open weekend. Nevertheless, I enjoyed eating food from these food carts. I’d recommend (Thai foods):

  • Nong Khoa Man Gai: Garlic and chicken rice (cost around $8-$9/dish) (Only open weekdays —and I came back for this).
  • Thai Wok (cost around $6-$7/dish)
  • Anna Thai Basil (cost around $6-$7/dish)

Others also recommend:

  • The Frying Scotsman
  • The Whole Bowl

Director Park

Director Park with a giant chessboard.

Once I bought a food , I’d need to find a place to eat. Therefore, I walked about two blocks east and south of Alder street. I found Director park, which is located right at downtown of Portland and is surrounded by hotels and high-end restaurants. It is a nice area and has tables and chairs for people to enjoy coffee and eating foods. There is also a giant chess board.

Day Two: Division and Hawthrone

On my second day, I decided to explore the south-east side of Portland where I was staying.

Division Street

Division street is filled with restaurants, bars, and coffee shops and is surrounded by residential area. I was staying just about six blocks south of Division street. Although I lived close to this street, I did not stop by or tried out any restaurant on this street. I only explored and walked around. Here is the list of places that caught my attention:

Pok Pok

It’s Thai street food spot. It’s always packed and I haven’t had a chance to try it. It is Andy Ricker’s first restaurant.

Whisky Soda Lounge

Whiskey Soda Lounge.

I saw a show about this place on Chow Tour Channel with Andy Ricker cooking “Yum Pla Muk” and promoting this place. I was impressed with Ricker knowledge about Thai street food. Now I saw it. I’d say It’s eclectic and popular with locals.

Coffee Shops

The Fresh Pot Cafe. Nice artwork!

Hawthrone Street

While it is similar to Division street, it is more diverse and there are many different types of shops (i.e vintage shops). It is about five to six blocks north of Division street. I’d say about 15 minutes to 20 minutes walk from Division street. I’ve spent times more on this street than Division street.

General Burnside’s Canteen

Gluten-free fried chicken clearly did not disappoint me. It came with fried potatoes. It was delicious and I am in love.

Tov Coffee Bar

Awesomely weird! Cafe in the bus.

Right after I finished eating at General Burnside’s Canteen, Tov Coffee Bar is just right next to it. It’s not just a brick and mortar cafe like Starbucks. It’s in the actual bus and it looks awesome.

Toadstool Cupcakes

Sign by the parking lot.

Toadstool Cupcakes shop is right next to Fred Mayer store. It has a variety of cupcakes. I haven’t tried it, but it’s on my A-MUST next visit list.

Powell’s Books At Hawthrone

One of Powell’s books store branches is at Hawthrone street. It’s totally a reader’s paradise. This branch is smaller than the one in downtown Portland but still has a lot of books.

Portland Hostel’s Cob Bench.

Cob bench at Portland Hostel on Hawthrone street.

While I didn’t stay at this place, this place caught my eyes with its cob bench. Great spot for taking photos and selfies.

Keep Portland Weird!

At the end of this trip, I am impressed with Portland, Oregon. I’m personally in love with it. Definitely, keep Portland weird!!! I love Portland’s street food scene. The city, itself, is great along with a lot of awesomely weird and interesting things I’ve found.

If you have any suggestion for my next visit in Portland, please don’t hesitate to share. I also previously wrote and published my two days guide in Seattle, Washington.

--

--

Nate

I am #DigitalNomad #EntrepreneurEngineer #Musician and #Artist. I love sharing and talking about my experience and journey.