Diary of an aspiring writer #1

Sometimes writers should not be allowed to be readers

Irene Aprile
3 min readJul 4, 2018
Courtesy of Pixabay

July the 4th

5.30 am
It’s Wednesday and the 4th day of Camp NaNoWriMo. I’m already desperately behind schedule on that. And on everything else concerning writing. It’s time to tackle at least one item on my never-ending to-do list while I have my healthy breakfast (if I keep repeating this to myself for long enough I might actually convince myself this diet isn’t getting the better of me).

7.00 am
Jeez, I hate so much when I have to stop writing to go to work.

7.30 am
I’m late. I hope I don’t find any truck on my way to work or I’ll be even more in trouble.
Some books should have a warning on the cover.
Addictive. Don’t read me if you have an appointment.
My 10 minutes of morning reading turned into 20 minutes. So now not only I’m late, but I’ll spend my day dying to know what V is going to tell J on their long needed heart-to-heart chat, and what’s going to happen now with the Brotherhood and its mission.
How am I supposed to focus on my job?

8.34 am
Now that I think about it, sometimes writers shouldn’t be allowed to be readers. I mean, whenever I find an absorbing novel, I become useless. My mind keeps wandering to the story while I’m at work; I’m less productive as a writer because hey, just one more page and I’ll put it down (yeah, sure); and I’m a worse person because who cares for real life when you don’t know if V and J are getting out of their predicament alive?
But I can’t… I can’t stay away from books. I’ve tried… No, that’s not true. I haven’t even tried. The mere thought makes me sick.
If I was a full-time writer, I could squeeze more reading time into my day (or I could pretend to do research and read instead).

12.01 pm
Thank God for mobile apps! I couldn’t resist a minute more, so during lunch break, I downloaded the novel I’m reading on my Kindle mobile app and went on reading.
Lunch break wasn’t enough to get to the end of the book, but I quenched some of my obsession.

15.26 pm
No, no. I lied. My obsession is still burning. OMG, I still have hours ahead of me before I can go home and finish reading.
In the meantime, I can try to stir my obsession toward a more constructive path and learn something from it as a writer.
What’s in this book that makes me want to go on reading so bad? And, most important, how can I achieve the same result with my writing?

17.34 pm
Who would have thought that identifying what’s so good in a book would have been so difficult? I’ve been thinking about it all day, and in the end, I think I can sum it up in:

  1. Multifaceted characters I can relate to, not necessarily because I have something in common with them, but because the writer allows me to go deep down in their minds.
  2. Conflict, both external and internal. But to tell the truth, the most incredible action and suspense for me means little if it isn’t mirrored by an internal struggle.

Then you can tell me whatever story you like, from a Regency romance to hard science fiction.

22.42 pm
Finally, I had the time to finish reading this book! Now I just have to resist starting another one. At least until tomorrow.

--

--