CS373 Spring 2023: Irfan Thomson

What did you do this past week?

Irfan Thomson
2 min readFeb 13, 2023

What did you do this past week?

It was a pretty normal week, where I followed the usual routine of homework and study, the only new elements being starting the IDB project in this class and meeting as a group and a history exam.

What’s in your way?

I should probably cut down on wasted time and be more efficient by tightening my sleep schedule and doing things earlier rather than later for my classes since my workload could ramp up in the near future partly because of the project from this class as well as other responsibilities.

What will you do next week?

Aside from doing my part in the IDB project as well as meeting with my group, I’ll probably have to study for an upcoming algorithms test and work on building better habits.

What did you think of Paper #5. The Single Responsibility Principle?

It was nice to learn a new design principle and see examples of it in action, in this case, to create classes with one responsibility to streamline the code and make it easier to understand and debug. Learning a new design principle not only makes one a better programmer through applying that to future code projects but also gradually makes one naturally start thinking with a more advanced understanding of design and solve problems more elegantly without explicitly thinking about applying specific principles.

What was your experience of iterators, reduce, and operators? (this question will vary, week to week)

I thought it was a very practical thing to learn, as the lambda operator and the tools surrounding it was something I knew existed and hadn’t actually taken a deeper look into nor practiced myself. Also, knowing the common pitfalls and the differences between Java and Python helped elevate my knowledge from a vague grasp to an actual understanding.

What made you happy this week?

Playing games with my friends and binging a webcomic that I liked were some bright spots in my week. Also eating steak with my brother. Food is always a good thing.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I’m not sure if this is well known, but this is a pretty neat React.js cheat sheet, which was nice for me who is still very new to it to see a lot of its important features at once and get a better understanding of what tools can be used and the basic syntax of how to use them.

--

--