The ARQ – 2016

Irie-Rose In Cinema
2 min readJun 9, 2024

--

After a long hiatus. I am back, with a film I had heard nothing about. But after a long look into the depths of Netflix. (we’ve all been there) I finally came across this sci-fi action film.

The Arq follows a man who wakes up in a time loop, and tries to get him and the woman with him out of it, before dying.

I’ll start with, I really am a sucker for a time loop. So my opinion may be biased when I say this was both an enjoyable and tense watch.

This is not the first time-loop story to utilise sci-fi dystopia and sure won’t be the last. The film reminded me of Edge of Tomorrow and yet it didn’t feel like a copy of it. The screenplay is well constructed. It clearly progresses over the three acts and there feels like there’s a new twist and problem every ten minutes.

The characters were interesting. Especially the main two played by Robbie Amell and Rachael Taylor, whose believable performances allow the science talk to flow and stop it from feeling clunky and overwhelming. Their chemistry is great and overall they were captivating. I feel that Robbie Amell really shines in films like these, having recently watched him in Code 8 Part 2 where again, he really seems to take the lead.

The time-loop structure is clearly set up never breaking its own rules and the world building within this time-loop is impressive – to say the least – considering the whole film takes place inside one house. The plot continuously moves forward, and at no point did it feel monotonous (which can happen – it’s a time-loop)

I went into the film with reservations, it is hard to fully realise a concept to do with time manipulation in 88 minutes, and yet Arq manages to keep the audiences attention with ease. The action, the outside world’s problems, and the romantic subplot keep the spectators interested throughout.

My main issue with this film is the desire for more. I feel like there was a whole lot of world to explore, and a lot of questions raised and unanswered about the outside world, some about the characters and their relationship.

Though, I have to hand it to the filmmakers. With a budget of about $2,000,000, this low budget sci-fi movie was incredible. Somehow keeping the viewer enthralled in a time-loop that happens in one setting is an amazing feat and one I must applaud.

Overall, this was a solid watch. A gripping story, interesting characters, an open ending (maybe too open) and a lot of fun. An interesting world to be in for 88 minutes. One I can only recommend.

3.8/5

--

--