Mental Health > Consistency

Irma Geddon
6 min readMay 6, 2022

I am very vocal about putting one’s mental health (and general health, obviously) above anything else. Above productivity.

Above consistency.

But as always, it is not always simple.

We’re in a capitalist society. Thus, we. have been raised as capitalists. Work is the epitome of what we do, even though it shouldn’t. Work defines our value, even though we have value even if we can’t/don't work.

Even knowing that my health and mental health are the most important treasure I have, I often forget about self-care.

I think it might be due to my (self-diagnosed) ADHD. Yes, I suspect I have ADHD. I know people don’t like self-diagnoses, but I don’t care. I’m exploring this because I feel like it is giving me the tools to live a better life. Plus, autism and ADHD are not that far away from each other, so it’s not that far-fetched.

When I feel well, I’m often in hyperfixation mode. It’s like “being in the zone”, but times a thousand. It is such an intense focus that it excludes anything else. I could forget to drink…

--

--

Irma Geddon

I am a multipotentialite neurospicy chronically ill artist, earning money with passive income. USA Today Bestseller.