Survival

Iron Knee
1 min readJan 10, 2021

--

The NY Times ran an opinion piece titled “Can Donald Trump Survive Without Twitter?”

I think the question that may be even more important is “Can the Media survive without Donald Trump?” Trump’s constant sowing of division and outrage has been a bonanza for media. Not just “are they able to survive”, but also “are they willing to give up talking non-stop about Donald Trump?”

It is ironic that the Times’ opinion piece also serves to keep Trump in the news. They just can’t quit. (Even more ironic, I’m now guilty of the same thing. Mea Culpa)

The media must stop giving attention to Donald Trump. Earlier in Trump’s term, I got so sick of talking about Trump that I stopped posting to this blog. I only started up again for the midterms, but after that the 2020 election was in full swing.

I’ll try harder now to ignore him. Wish me luck.

UPDATE: A reader sent this in a comment. It is definitely apropos.

Originally published at Political Irony.

--

--