Superstore Sales Overview Dashboard Creation — Using Tableau & Figma

Isaac Bipiamina Igbanibo
5 min readApr 13, 2023

--

If you just want to view the dashboard, you can simply go here and click on the Regions to filter the in

With the various Tableau functionalities at my disposal, I figured I could learn more and experiment more.

Sales data for four years is included in the dataset. I took it upon myself to study it and offer visualizations.

The dataset comprises information about the sales of various products that the store sells and details about location, product categories, subcategories, sales and profitability, consumer segmentation, etc. This sample dataset provides a typical use case from which I may derive insightful knowledge from the Sales data to enhance the Marketing and Sales strategy.

By using this sample Dataset, I may learn about numerous procedures and components and use that knowledge to improve and expand the firm.

With the help of the potent data visualization tool Tableau, users can quickly and easily analyze and visualize data.

A drag-and-drop interface offered by Tableau makes creating visualizations and exploring data simple. Users can build dynamic and interactive visualizations by selecting from a range of graphs and charts, such as bar charts, line charts, scatter plots, and heat maps.

Tableau also provides several sophisticated capabilities that enable customers to learn more about their data, including data blending, geographic mapping, and predictive analytics. Additionally, Tableau users can publish and share their visualizations with others as static or interactive dashboards, making it a crucial tool for teamwork and data-driven decision-making.

This is not a how-to article or lesson before I start.

Let’s now get down to business!

I began by downloading the dataset from Kaggle.com. Excel was used to prepare the dataset by cleaning and organizing it. However, it was a brief one because there wasn’t much cleaning to be done.

The following step was importing the dataset into Tableau.

Importing the dataset into Tableau

Since my dataset was already in Excel format, the Excel choice was chosen. For those who have not yet used Tableau for visualization, the above image shows a “Sheet 1” choice next to the “Data Source” option on the bottom left.

When you click on it, a space — or should I say dashboard — opens up so you can see a certain metric, KPI, or whatever else you decided to see or compute.

I started by making my initial illustrations for the local sales. Its name was “Sales by Region,” as you can see below.

The different regions in the data set
The visuals of the different regions in the dataset created

I then needed to make the profit sheet.

The interesting thing about this is that I’m interested in comparing the profit from the prior year to the profit from the current year, so I’m not just looking for the profit made. As I requested, the comparison will be expressed as a percentage.

You have the opportunity to create calculated fields in Tableau. Tableau’s calculated field option is used to compare the profit for the current year to the profit from the prior year.

The calculation for the current year’s Profit

With the help of the drag-and-drop approach and the calculated field option, a new field for the current year is generated.

The same as it was the year before. The current year’s computation formula is modified by minus one (-1) to produce the prior year’s calculation.

Previous Year Calculation

Calculated fields will be employed to determine the percentage profit difference between the current and prior years.

The percent difference in profit calculation
Visuals for the profit achieved for the year

This demonstrates how far I was able to get by using the calculated fields. An increase in profit of 14% from the prior year.

That’s much better, now.

The total orders and sales were calculated using the same method.

The second parameter I depicted, which compares only three groups, I preferred to have in a doughnut chart.

Doughnut visualizations are not an option in Tableau. The dual axis is to be used to generate this.

I merely dragged the profit to the row tab as I’m comparing using profit. They were placed side by side on the row tab after this was repeated on the same row

Trying to achieve a doughnut chart

On the profit that was already placed on the row tab, I changed the measures to attributes.

By clicking on the drop-down of the second measure, I was able to establish a dual axis.

The chart looked like this after visualizing it in terms of profit. The chosen colors had previously been included.

completed doughnut chart

I then used the parameter option to create the year filter. I experimented with many approaches, including moving forward to just construct a year filter, but it did not get the results I was looking for.

For me, using the parameter option was the best solution. I needed the year filter to show the percent difference in the sales, profit, and quantity in addition to the performance.

You have to try several methods till you succeed.

As I previously stated, this is more of a process sharing than a step-by-step tutorial on how to make a Tableau dashboard.

The dashboard is complete and can be seen here. It is an interactive dashboard since it is set up that way to make the process and all the dashboard comprises easier to understand.

The dashboard was made with Figma, and I have to say, it was a fascinating project.

You can interact with the dashboard here

Recommendations

More efforts should be made to increase the category’s sales of technology and office supply items. This increases the business’s profit.

Additionally, investments need to be made in the dashboard’s top 5 subcategories. They also produce greater revenue.
The shop should focus more on home clients because they are excellent customers.

Other market segments can be targeted, however, to increase profit, home consumers should be targeted more. If they wish to increase their sales, they should focus on different market niches.

States that generate the most revenue should also receive greater attention.

--

--