Can You Be A Leader And A Follower?

Isabel Hundt
5 min readFeb 12, 2019

Growing up, I struggled with being a leader. I’m the oldest of five siblings, which means that I was automatically put into the leadership position by taking care of my younger brothers and sister.

Outside of our home, however, I didn’t want to lead. I was the girl that sat in the last row at school to avoid being called to the front. A successful day was any day I didn’t have to share my opinion in class or at other gatherings. I quietly participated in being the follower and was okay with it. I was comfortable.

Around the age of twelve, I had a profound dream in which I observed my adult self speaking, in English (which is not my native language), in front of thousands of people on a beautiful stage. Surprisingly, when I woke up I felt truly at ease and experienced a deep feeling of bliss.

I was called to be a leader, but I wanted to be a follower.

Years went by and I made a shift from being an introvert 100% of the time to being an ambivert. That means I’m quite balanced between being an introvert vs. an extrovert. However, I still rather wanted to be a follower. Being a leader seemed to require a whole lot of responsibility that I didn’t want to take on and attention I didn’t need.

The older I got the more I learned about leadership. At first, I heard people preach that if you…

--

--

Isabel Hundt

Sociologist; Somatic Psychology; Thetahealing; Award-Winning Film Producer, New Earth Co-Creator #NECC