CS378 Week of 25 Sep — 2 Oct

Isaiah Suarez
2 min readOct 3, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

I worked on getting our Project 2 website up on AWS and connected our domain.

What’s in your way?

What’s in my way is learning Bootstrap and React more thoroughly. I’ve been trying to get a carousel working on the homepage of our website and it has proved to be more difficult than I initially anticipated.

What will you do next week?

Next week we will turn in Project 2 phase 1 and plan out phase 2. It should be easier now that we have the basic architecture of the website built out now.

What did you think of Paper #6: The Open-Closed Principle?

I thought it was very interesting. I have been taught since CS314 to abstract functionality when I can, and it seems to follow in line with this philosophy.

What was your experience of operators, iterators, and generators?

I have used operators and iterators before, but I have never really interacted with generators until this week. Really interesting to learn about.

What made you happy this week?

I got to lead a group of university students from Germany around UT campus.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is that you can option-click on several lines of code to edit several of them at once!

--

--