Chris Ebongue
1 min readMay 26, 2024

--

I'll let you in on a secret ...

I actually grew up in three different households. The first one was nurturing, I was free and felt safe. The second household would induce fear to get us to cooperate, but I had so much anger in me, that when I became an adult, I thought it was my chance to release it to others.

In the third household, I was still traumatized by the second that I did not realize I was loved until four years later. I could have been happy but chose not to because I did not believe anyone other than my mom (first home), would care for me.

So, when I read "children don't do that in my world" I'm thinking ... is your world, the first or second or third home? Because in each home, there was still cooperation but a different kind.

In my first home, cooperation was natural for me. So, I'm lucky to know the difference.

--

--

Chris Ebongue

I'm a mom & parenting coach, merging African values with Montessori philosophy for a holistic approach to raising children. Explore: https://isaiahsmethod.com/