Here’s why Kenny Lattimore’s ‘For You’ is the perfect love song

Thembinkosi Sekgaphane
4 min readJan 20, 2024

--

It’s crazy to think a step-by-step manual to a successful relationship exists, however, Kenny Lattimore and co-writers might have penned a master’s guide to making a relationship work.

Love has become a commodity. The cheesy red Valentine’s Day decorations and the sitcom storylines that show the unfavourable treatment a man should receive if he forgets to gift his lover are proof.

The questions asked about love are complicated, but the answers to those questions are simple because once it is all said and done, the cosmetic identity of love evolves all the time, but its genetic identity remains intact. Rhythm and Blue (R&B) is synonymous with love and all the good feelings that go with it, so it’s only fitting that the solutions to love’s complexities would come in the form of lyrics and soothing melodies.

One of Kenny Lattimore’s greatest hits, ‘For You’ equips individuals looking to commit with tools to make it work. Here’s Lattimore’s breakdown of do’s for a healthy relationship.

For you, I give a lifetime of stability

Anything you want of me

Nothing is impossible

You need to give all of you, not temporarily but for a lifetime and most importantly give abundantly. Stability speaks to consistency and the unshakeable belief that someone needs to have about your presence and support in their life. Be a real-life superhero, make the impossible, possible.

And money. Yes, love shouldn’t cost a cent but having cash to buy gifts, and pay for dates is the spice of the relationship, let’s not forget the need for shelter for an environment where the relationship can grow without the unsolicited advice from uninvited experts and wedding are not cheap.

For you, there are no words or ways to show my love

Or all the thoughts I’m thinking of

The miscommunication, being unsynchronized at times disturbs the peace in a relationship. Still attracted to the partner and have a desire for the relationship to continue yet fail to communicate this wish verbally or through actions.

’Cause this life is no good alone

Since we’ve become one I’ve made a change

Everything I do now makes sense

All roads end, all I do is for you

Through miscommunication and being a benevolent despot of a man, your relationship with a woman is first on the list of priorities, every thought and action taken is for the benefit of the relationship, and life without this particular woman is unimaginable and would be unbearable. So try to align your wishes, thoughts, and actions. And verbalise any difficulty you experience from trying to do that and ask for time to process the feeling, but don’t fail to verbalise the obvious challenge you are faced with.

For you, I share the cup of love that overflows

And anyone who knows us knows

Ever heard anyone say ‘But you two looked good together, what happened?’. The spectator’s view might be better than that of the person on the field. Everyone makes the mistake of telling everyone how you make them feel but you are kept in the dark, it’s a secret kept far from your ears and only disclosed once it is of no use to you. Let it be classified to the world and the worse kept secret to the person who matters the most.

That I would change all faults I have for you

There is no low or high or in-between

Of my heart that you haven’t seen

If you forget everything else this song teaches, remember that change is good. It is absolutely important for the growth and longevity of the relationship. Be vulnerable, share all your fears, and dreams, cry, be strong, soft, be brave and fearful. Let your partner see all your emotions.

’Cause I share all I have and am

Nothing I’ve said is hard to understand

All I feel, I feel deeper still

And always will, all this love is for you

With time double sets in, which is why it is important to reassure your significant other of the love you have for them. How it has matured, and the change in your love language throughout the relationship needs to be explained.

Every note that I play, every word I might say

Every melody I feel are only for you and your appeal

Every page that I write, everyday of my life

Would not be filled without the things

That my love for you now brings

Do everything to impress your lover, your achievements at work and your personal goals are for the benefit of the relationship, validation from your partner is as important as breathing. Every time you think of your partner… tell them. Explain your thoughts about them as best as possible.

For you I’d make a promise of fidelity

Now and for eternity

No one could replace this vow

For you I’d take your hand and heart and everything

And add to them a wedding ring

Loyalty and being faithful are key, it’s a no-brainer. It’s the promise of refraining from adultery. The vow of marriage.

’Cause this life is no good alone

Since we’ve become one you’re all I know

If this feeling should leave, I’d die and here’s why

All I am is for you

The Journey of life is incomplete without a partner; you are not just their better half but the two of you are considered as one. You run everything past your partner, they are your sounding board.

Everything I do now makes sense

All roads end, all I do Is for you

Only for you

Finding the right partner brings clarity, a reason to live, and encourages one to strive to be the best version of themselves. Shouldn’t have any other plan other than to gratify your partner in every way possible.

--

--

Thembinkosi Sekgaphane

I am a popular culture enthusiast, a media practitioner and a trend spotter at heart.