My Interview experience of IIMA

Isha Nisar
6 min readMay 30, 2020

--

So before knowing how my interview process was, here is my background:

10th std (SSC) — 94.18%

12th std (HSC) — 89.08%

BMS (Finance) — 81.20%

Work Experience — 14 months in Outdoor Media

You can read my article on My Journey to IIM Ahmedabad

Date: 21st February 2020

Time: 8:15 am

Venue: The Orchid, Mumbai.

I reached the venue at 7 am and got the document verification first. I was revising my concepts and just talking to other candidates in the room. Later, we were divided into groups of 7 candidates. I was in Panel 7, being third in the panel.

I couldn’t smile throughout the entire procedure. It was as if the dream was coming true. (Maybe got an advantage because of that during the interview too)

As per the panel, we were supposed to go to the conference room along with our panellists for the first step: Analytical Writing Test (AWT).

Analytical Writing Test (AWT):

Our AWT was a big paragraph. The gist to that:

An argument on the ban of additional homework given to students from school to be done at home as it is stressful, ineffective and of no benefit. It is mythical and most teachers and schools don’t see when and how to give homework.

Questions: To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write down the stated and unstated assumptions. What will strengthen or weaken the argument?

We were given a one-sided ruled page to pen down our thoughts and 20 minutes for the same, which is quite manageable.

Since I was third in my panel, I was asked to wait in the waiting room. I was quite excited. For the last time, I revisited my entire folder because ‘what if I forgot anything in my anxiety’.

The second boy returned from the interview, and the panellists called for my name. I was trying to control my emotions (or maybe I would have surely started dancing there). I entered the interview room, greeted and welcomed them to Mumbai, as it was their first day.

There were 2 Panellists, both Male and Professor at IIM Ahmedabad.

Personal Interview:

Q1. Do you know the previous candidate?

A: Yes sir. We both were in the same class in the 11th and 12th. But for undergraduate, we were in different courses.

Q2. What is your name? (They got confused with my name and surname)

A: Isha. Sir, I have written in CAT application as per my 10th mark sheet.

Q3. So why have you come today?

A: For the IIM Ahmedabad interview and I am looking forward to the same.

Q4. You have worked for 14 months. Are you still working here?

A: No. I left in July. (Did not cross-question on the same)

Q5. Tell us something about the company you worked for. What was your role?

A: I mentioned that I worked in an outdoor media owner firm and I am a part of the Business Development Team. I also mentioned my job profile and day-to-day activities in detail.

Q6. Is Barter the actual word? Or is there any other word? (Had mentioned in the previous question)

A: Yes sir. In the industry, we use the word ‘Barter’.

Q7. What is the turnover of the company? How many employees are there?

A: Told them.

Q8. So you almost do so many things? What is the structure and hierarchy of the company?

A: Told them. Also, I mentioned that since I love exploring new things, I would always be happy to lend my hand in whichever manner possible to all my fellow colleagues and company.

Q9. How do you do the pricing of media properties?

A: Explained to them the various factors we take into consideration and how pricing varies as per seasons. Also, since the terminologies used are a bit different, I explained to them the terminologies as well.

Q10. Give us an example of pricing you applied?

A: Told them about the project and how did we apply the pricing strategy.

Q11. But you said you are bearing loss on the same, so how is this beneficial for the company?

A: Told them about how from the long term it would be beneficial because of the credibility of the client and how it will increase the future profit margins.

Q12. So the clients get you business and not the other way round?

A: No. It is a two-way thing. We get future clients because of the credibility of past clients. The clients get more reach and awareness due to our media properties. Assume that the client is Mentos (took that example because a bowl of mentos was just kept in front of me), we mutually help each other in the following ways: A, B, and C.

Q13. Okay. Since you do a sales pitch, consider we are mentos and we are not convinced. Convince us.

A: Did my best to convince them. (Do not get scared from this. The sales pitch was in my JD and also it is my USP. )

Q14. You mentioned eyeballs as a metric. How do you calculate the same?

A: Explained them through guesstimates. (But they were not quite convinced, tried different ways to explain them and this went on for about 3–4 minutes)

Q15. From what you said you proved that the client gives you business and not the other way round?

A: Again explained to them how integration helps both the companies.

(I saw one of the Prof was making faces, but the other one smiled and nodded, so I got some confidence that I mentioned correctly)

Q16. Is a company a contract? Why?

A: Yes. I stated the definition of contract and then explained to them that since a company fulfils all the criteria, hence a company is a contract.

Q17. Is the foundation of a company a contract? Why? What constitutes the foundation of a company?

A: No. Vision and Mission of a company are not a contract.

Q18. Are you sure? Think of what is the foundation? Can you start a company with just a vision and mission? If today we three got a plan, so can we just start a company?

A: Sir, do you mean LOU and MOU? Yes, they are a contract basis on the definition of the Contract Act.

Q19. What are your views on Sabrimala? Do you support the Supreme Court’s verdict?

A: Yes. I agree with the Supreme Court’s verdict and presented my views on the same.

Q20. But what about the traditions and beliefs of people? Also, the majority of people protesting were women.

A: Explained my views.

Q21. Now compare this to the Ayodhya case, the verdict was given based on the beliefs of Hindus without any historical proof. What are your views?

A: Told my views.

Q22. But what about the traditions and beliefs being followed in one and ignored in other? What are your views? Also, do you think traditions and beliefs are wrong? They have been followed since years now.

A: All traditions and beliefs are not right even if they have been followed since years. We see an example of Sati of how it was abandoned, being a tradition that was followed for years because it was wrong. I also mentioned about the other traditions and beliefs going on, and how I have fought against some of the wrong beliefs and I am here sitting in front of them for the interview. (They looked impressed by the story.)

Q23. Any questions for us?

A: I asked two questions.

Q24. Do you wish to show your folder?

A: No sir. Thank you.

(I believe that was the worst mistake I made in the entire interview. I had planned that I will push them to see my folder before entering, but somehow thought that since I do not have any State or National level certificates so I should not show my folder.)

I was quite satisfied but also worried about a few questions, mainly about the traditions and beliefs part. But I believe the energy, the vibe and the friendly interaction helped me to achieve my college of dreams.

You can read my other articles on CAT at https://medium.com/@isha.nisar

You can connect with me on LinkedIn for any other help related to CAT and IIM Ahmedabad: Isha Nisar

--

--

Isha Nisar

PGP — IIM Ahmedabad (2020–22) | CAT 2019 99.37%iler | BMS — NM College (2018)